Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

need some sugg

• Please log in to reply

rolligator

rolligator

• Pip
  • 2 posts
ok i got this hp pavillion 514n pc it was was dropped before i got it ,now it will start up and run for a few minutes then it just shuts down and says its not connected to my monitor... this is a hobbie im not good at yet trial and error is my method but im noticing the heat sink is getting very hot...is that what may be wrong or would it be i need another fan please help im frustrated lol :)

Edited by sari, 19 May 2010 - 07:43 AM.

Advertisements

Alzeimer

Alzeimer

Member 1K

• PipPipPipPip
  • 1,331 posts
First thing you should check is in the BIOS for the System Temp (if you have that option HP are not the most explicit in BIOS options) it will tell you your cpu temp.

If your cpu is overheating it will make your computer shut down. A socket 478 like yours should run at a temp of 80 to 125 without a problem (the lower the better) if you see temps higher then 130 F (54c) then your fan and heatsink are either dirty or not working properly.

You can download programs like Speedfan or Core Temp (both free) and before you computer shuts off you might be able to check the temps.

rolligator

rolligator

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
ok i will try this now my next question is i noticed the the black tray that holds the heat sink in secure is not so secure how important is this piece??? can i take it off and it will run? thank you for helping me up to this point

Alzeimer

Alzeimer

Member 1K

• PipPipPipPip