Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Critical data removed after virus deletion?


  • Please log in to reply

#1
mega2008

mega2008

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
Hi,
I know this seems like an XP issue but i think i still may be infected as these changes/restrictions were done straight after my symantic detected and deleted the 'trojan.fakeAV' which was file 'bolflphtssd.exe'
Basically Symantec deleted the virus and didn't need to reboot. But just to be sure I started in safe mode and ran malwarebytes which came up clean. I then shut-down, restarted again only to find the theme had gone to classic (and un-able to revert back) and the network connection was removed, or constantly in the process of handshaking or syncing with the network.

I have ran numerous scans with symantec and mbytes in normal mode and safe mode but they have come clean.
Any ideas? Maybe just critical data got deleted as well?

I look forward to hearing from you. Thanks for your help.

Tris.
  • 0

Advertisements







Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP