Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Turning a server into a router

• Please log in to reply

nutman

nutman

• Pip
  • 4 posts
Hi,

I'm quite new to networking so this may seem like a silly question, but here goes..

I'm planning on building a server that will host my website (which transfers 10GB every week), as well as being a file server for the rest of the house. It's required to hold all different types of media that can be transferred between all computers on the network, both wired and wireless. I also want to have the 3 games consoles in the house to have a dedicated speed from our line so that the connection doesn't start to lag in-game when someone else on the network starts downloading.

Basically what I want to know is if the internet connection comes out our cable modem, does it have to go into a separate router, or could I just install some sort of network hub pci card into the server to do the router's job, bypassing the router altogether. If this is possible then I could use some sort of software to split the bandwidth out to all the computers, leaving a reasonable amount for the games consoles.

If this is possible, could you leave a few suggestions on what I could buy.

Advertisements

SupeR GeekiN CognitO

SupeR GeekiN CognitO

• PipPipPip
  • 137 posts

Basically what I want to know is if the internet connection comes out our cable modem, does it have to go into a separate router

Well, based on this...