Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

No space at Win XP


  • Please log in to reply

#1
shulman

shulman

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
Hi,
Im new here and have bad english so please excuse in advance.
My hard drice C at WinXP started making problems.
It sais out of 40GB I have no space left even due I cleared all of the progrems except 5g or so.
even when I deleted more the space left was minimizing each second by 10mb.

I already tried antivirus scan by ms securuty essentials
defregment the drive, ccleaner, disk cleanup (from dos and win) allow indexing and on+off system restore
as reading here and tought it would fix this issue.
What else can i do?

Please help me, im desperate and dont wont to format the cpu again.

Regars,
Shulman
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Download Autoruns from the link in my signature below:
1: Extract the Autoruns Zip file contents to a folder.
2: Double-click the "Autoruns.exe".
3: Click on the "Everything" tab
4: Remove any entries that mention "File Not Found" by right-clicking the entry and select Delete.
5: Go to File then to Export As or Save in some versions.
6: Save AutoRuns.txt file to known location like your Desktop.
7: Attach to your next reply.

Download and install Free Everest Home Edition
Open it.
1: In left pane expand Computer folder.
2: Click once on Summary
3: In upper menu, go Report
4: And then to Quick Report-Summary
5: Save it in text file, and paste it in your next post.
Click the + by computer, click on Sensor. Get a screenshot and post it so I can check your temps and voltages...

DO NOT INCLUDE ANYTHING UNDER THE LINE THAT SAYS "DEBUG- PCI"






Go to Start then to Run
Type in compmgmt.msc and click Enter
On left side click on Disk Management
On right side you will see you hard drive.
Now I need you to take a screenshot and attach it to your next reply. Do the following to take a screenshot while the above is open and showing on your desktop.

To do a screenshot please have click on your Print Screen on your keyboard. It is normally the key above your number pad between the F12 key and the Scroll Lock key
Now go to Start and then to All Programs
Scroll to Accessories and then click on Paint
In the Empty White Area click and hold the CTRL key and then click the V
Go to the File option at the top and click on Save as
Save as file type JPEG and save it to your Desktop


Attach it to your next reply
  • 0

#3
shulman

shulman

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
I realy appriciate your help.
ok, i've done everything as you said.
Please see attached files with this tread.
Waiting for your further instructions to follow.

Regards,
Shulman

Attached Thumbnails

  • cmanage.JPG
  • sensor.JPG

Attached Files


Edited by shulman, 07 June 2010 - 03:04 PM.

  • 0

#4
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
OK lets see what we can do.
Open Autoruns, click on "Logon" tab, and UN-check:

+ "IgfxTray"
+ "SunJavaUpdateSched"
+ "MSMSGS"
+ "msnmsgr"


The next file needs to be manually disabled and is only needed if you use multi language on your keyboard. If you do then skip the step.


To turn off just ctfmon.exe go to:

Control Panel then to Regional and Language Options

Click on the Languages Tab then click the Details button

Click on the Advanced tab

Check the box that says Turn off advanced text services option

Click A and then OK



When done restart computer and then:



Download TFC by OldTimer to your desktop
  • Please double-click TFC.exe to run it. (Note: If you are running on Vista, right-click on the file and choose Run As Administrator).
  • It will close all programs when run, so make sure you have saved all your work before you begin.
  • Click the Start button to begin the process. Depending on how often you clean temp files, execution time should be anywhere from a few seconds to a minute or two. Let it run uninterrupted to completion.
  • Once it's finished it should reboot your machine. If it does not, please manually reboot the machine yourself to ensure a complete clean.


Download Auslogics Defrag from the link in my signature below. Auslogics Defrag in my opinion is better because:
It does a more comprehensive job at Defragging
It will actually show you what it is doing
At the end of working it will show you how much speed you picked up
You can view a online log of the files that Auslogics defragged

Let me know when all steps are done if you have gained more space
  • 0

#5
123Runner

123Runner

    Member 4k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,308 posts
Lets start with some cleanup.
The temps look good. The drive space is as reported (503mb) which is less than 1%.

There are a couple things in autoruns that Rshaffer61 will take care of.

Please download ATF Cleaner by Atribune.
Double-click ATF-Cleaner.exe to run the program.
Under Main choose: Select All
Click the Empty Selected button.
If you use Firefox browserClick Firefox at the top and choose: Select All
Click the Empty Selected button.
NOTE: If you would like to keep your saved passwords, please click No at the prompt.
If you use Opera browserClick Opera at the top and choose: Select All
Click the Empty Selected button.
NOTE: If you would like to keep your saved passwords, please click No at the prompt.
Click Exit on the Main menu to close the program.
For Technical Support, double-click the e-mail address located at the bottom of each menu.
[/list]123runner

Ok Rshaffer61 your quick today.

Shulman...You can use TFC or ATF. Either one will work equally as well.

Edited by 123Runner, 07 June 2010 - 03:28 PM.

  • 0

#6
shulman

shulman

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
Rshaffer61, before I can make your last advice, i want to notify that my cpu
have become very slow for some reason and the mouse curser got stuck (even at the begining - staruo page) ever since followd your guideness and restart a few hours later.
Is there any possiblity to solve this so I can do as 4th tread instruction.
My cpu is not so developed and/or new so i try not to overload it to much.
Do I need to still keep the autoruns + everlast? can i delete progs that catch me system memory resources?>


Regards,
Shulman
  • 0

#7
The Skeptic

The Skeptic

    Trusted Tech

  • Technician
  • 4,075 posts
The slow response is due to the fact that your hard disk is so full. Please note that uninstalling programs usually does not free much space on your hard disk unless the uninstalled programs are known to be heavy resource users.

You must free up space and I suggest that you do it either by deleting or backing up pictures, songs and movies which usually take a lot of space. Another option which can help somewhat is to downsize the Recycle Bin by right-clicking the icon > properties > resize by moving the slider.

After you you get enough working space (not less then 10 GB in your case), download and run Malwarebytes. I would also run another antivirus in place of the one you ran. My personal choice is Avast. Please do not allow two AVs to run at the same time. Either uninstall Microsoft's or disable it's real time protection while running the new AV scan.

If your computer does not reveal any infection then run CCleaner (my personal choice. Never ever failed me) and defrag again. For defragmantation my choice would be Auslogic (free).

Edited by The Skeptic, 08 June 2010 - 04:08 AM.

  • 0

#8
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Skeptic is right with me on this and the issue is you need to clear some space hogging data.
The other option is to purchase a larger hd and clone your current drive over.
I would suggest a 80 to 120 gig hard drive in this case.
Your drive by todays standards is very small in capacity. With the new programs and data taking more and more room the need for a larger HD is needed as a answer to your issue.
In the mean time i would do as Skeptic has suggested and any pics, videos, music and movies should be backed up on to cd's or dvd's and deleted from your hard drive.
  • 0

#9
123Runner

123Runner

    Member 4k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,308 posts

In the mean time i would do as Skeptic has suggested and any pics, videos, music and movies should be backed up on to cd's or dvd's and deleted from your hard drive.

If you do not get the needed space soon, the computer will crash and possibly not be bootable. You will (if you already haven't) see numerous issues from slowness to program failures.
  • 0

#10
shulman

shulman

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
Hi
thanks for the answers.
I followd all directions that Rshaffer61 and the others suggested.
After defragment and deleting almost all of my big files, the space didnt even move a bit. it shows me what i cleared and then back to 0kb again after some seconds.
I dont think its a problem of the files onto cpu i think its some kind of a bug.
Now irememberd that just before it happend i tries installing webcam drivers nt from a cd. could it be the problem?
As for the momory slowing down, its just the mouse curser got stuck sometimes ever since I installed all the softwares Rshaffer told me to.
before that and bfore the space bug everything was perfect and the cpu ran smoothly.
Will the other AV can replace the ms protection? do you think its a virus causing this?
What can I do to solve this?
please help me guys..im desperate.


Regards,
Shulman

Edited by shulman, 09 June 2010 - 08:21 AM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#11
diabillic

diabillic

    Member 1K

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,370 posts
Download WinDirStat from my signature, run it and take a screenshot of it open. This will give a visual breakdown of whats taking up space.
  • 0

#12
123Runner

123Runner

    Member 4k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,308 posts

Download WinDirStat from my signature, run it and take a screenshot of it open. This will give a visual breakdown of whats taking up space.

Already been done.

Lets be sure you are clean 1st.

I suggest you go to the Malware Removal and Spyware Removal Forum and run all the steps located in the START HERE. These self-help tools will help you clean up 70% of problems on your own. If you are still having problems after doing the steps, then please post the reguested logs in THAT forum. If you are unable to run any of the tools then start a new topic in the malware forum and put this in the subject line...I am unable to run any malware tools

If you are still having problems after being given a clean bill of health from the malware expert, then please return to THIS thread and we will pursue other options to help you solve your current problem(s).

Add a link to this topic so that malware tech can see what steps have been taken here
  • 0

#13
diabillic

diabillic

    Member 1K

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,370 posts

Download WinDirStat from my signature, run it and take a screenshot of it open. This will give a visual breakdown of whats taking up space.

Already been done.

Lets be sure you are clean 1st.

I suggest you go to the Malware Removal and Spyware Removal Forum and run all the steps located in the START HERE. These self-help tools will help you clean up 70% of problems on your own. If you are still having problems after doing the steps, then please post the reguested logs in THAT forum. If you are unable to run any of the tools then start a new topic in the malware forum and put this in the subject line...I am unable to run any malware tools

If you are still having problems after being given a clean bill of health from the malware expert, then please return to THIS thread and we will pursue other options to help you solve your current problem(s).

Add a link to this topic so that malware tech can see what steps have been taken here


I dont recall seeing that done...EVEREST does not report disk usage breakdown.
  • 0

#14
shulman

shulman

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
Ok Diabilic, Ive attached the log of WinDirStat as you said.
Now Im dowloading Avast AV after deleting the MS Guard completly.
after I'll install and scan c drive.
my conflict of istalling before was, what can the other AV can do better then the 1 of MS ?
But i guess you are the experts so no argue on that.

123Runner, is Malawre better then Avast.?
Do I still need to install it and ask in their forum along with the other AV?
my next step is to scan and update.



Regards,
Shulman
  • 0

#15
123Runner

123Runner

    Member 4k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,308 posts
diabillic Sorry about that. You are correct on WinDirStat. I am also working on a very similar topic.

shulman There is no log attached.
I wanted you to post in our malware forum because you seem to indicate that the free space keeps going away.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP