Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Medion Laptop F11 Windows Recover


  • Please log in to reply

#1
Mijj

Mijj

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
Hi,

not sure if this is entirely the right forum, but....

I have a client with a Medion laptop that suffered a crash. He went through the in built restore process by hitting F11 before Windows XP Home Edition boots. This was successful, but now every time the laptop is rebooted, the 'Hit F11 to recover' message pops up. If it is ignored, it will time out and Windows boots ok. However, if F11 is pressed, it goes off into recovery and restores the machine to factory state, erasing all his documents and settings. Courtesy of his children he has had his machine reset to factory twice. Not good!

I could find nowhere to disable this, and don't really want to do another restore if I can help it.

Anybody got any suggestions for
resolving this, other than repeating the recovery process and reinstaling all apps etc?

Thanks in advance,

Mijj
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
Alzeimer

Alzeimer

    Member 1K

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,330 posts
Go to System Properties under Advanced and Startup and Recovery and uncheck Time to display recovery option when needed

Maybe this will help
  • 0

#3
diabillic

diabillic

    Member 1K

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,370 posts
No, its probably an option in the BIOS. Refer to your system manual. I would look for something such as "Hide Boot Screen" or "Disable Boot Screen" in the BIOS to stop that screen from showing up.
  • 0

#4
Alzeimer

Alzeimer

    Member 1K

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,330 posts
Sorry Diabelic is right my suggestion is for the safe mode ect options, my boo boo
  • 0

#5
Mijj

Mijj

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
Thanks - I didn't think to look in the BIOS. Will try that...

Cheers

Mijj
  • 0

#6
eudoxa

eudoxa

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Hi!
Just found solution. That press f11 for recovery is part of boot sequence before choosing OS (if more than one).
If you manage to reinstall MBR you will get rid of it. I did it with EasyBCD in section BCD Deployment and selected write MBR. It will install-reinstall your existing MBR and that "press F11...." thing will dissapear....
Regards...
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP