Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

BIOS Correction?

• Please log in to reply

Sure

Sure

• PipPip
  • 25 posts
I have Windows XP on my PC, which I have been using for about 3 years now.Since a few days, I keep getting Blue Screen on and off. Earlier the message was:

A problem has been detected and Windows has been shut down to protect your computer.

If this is the first time you see this screen, restart your computer.

Check to be sure you have adequate disk space. If a Driver is identified in the stop message, disable the driver or check with the manufacturer for update. Try checking Video Adaptors.

Check with your hardware vendor for BIOS updates. Disable BIOS memory option such as caching or shadowing. If you need to use safe mode, use F8.

Technical Information:

***STOP: 0x0000008E (0xC000005, 0xBF81BAF2, 0x89132C44, 0x00000000)

***win32k.sys – Address BF81BAF2 base at BF800000, Datestamp 41107f7a

[I have about 4.72 GB free space on C Drive.

How to locate and disable the Driver mentioned in STOP message? Or check with the manufacturer?

How to check and set right the Video Adaptors? By the way, does the problem have anything to do with latest version of 'Skype' that I have installed on my PC just before the problem surfaced?

How do I disable BIOS memory option such as caching or shadowing?]

I restarted in Safe Mode, restored the computer to an earlier date. The problem seemed to be over. I could start the computer a couple of times. But then again the Blue Screen started appearing. Now the message is as follows: