Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Worm.Win32.NetSky new topic

• This topic is locked This topic is locked

good_hope

good_hope

• Pip
  • 8 posts
I have seen posts regarding this problem but am not sure how different my problem is.

Apologies if I have used the forum wrongly - this is my first time>

I have Symantec antivirus program on my system. I lupdated on the 30th Dec and did a scan. I did not detect any problems.

Yesterday, 2 January, on booting up, a virus message appeared in the middle of the screen (reported in more detail later)

Yesterday I spent much time trying to clean/delete the threats offline. Went online ONLY to update to latest Symantec version provided yesterday – 31/12/09 rev.17 (please see NOTE at the end)

(I notice from another computer that the latest update is now – 2/01/2010 – rev 20)

Symantec seems to manage to control the threats – which requires a re-boot. At which point the same thing happens again.

This is a log of what I have tried today.
On switching my laptop on, I get:
Symantec is cleaning threats from your system
then
Security warning
Worm.Win32.NetSky detect on your machine.
This virus is distributed via the Internet through e-mail and Active-x objects .. and so on. (I click OK)

Small window appears: Symantec AntiVirus could not complete remediation tasks.

A big bold notice in the middle of the screen appears saying:
YOUR SYSTEM IS INFECTED!
System has been stopped due to a serious malfunction.
Spyware activity has been detected.