Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

IP conflicts

• Please log in to reply

JonF

JonF

• PipPip
  • 28 posts
I developed this problem this week on a system I have been running for about 2 years.

The problem is that I can only connect one computer to my home network at a time. I have a hardwired desktop and several wireless devices(2 laptops, nook, PS3). I can connect any of then to the system and get full internet access. However, if one computer is connected to the network and I try to connect a second, I get a Windows system error pop-up balloon saying that there is an IP conflict and I can not connect to the internet. The wireless connections are strong. When I assigned a static IP to my desktop, I could connect one wireless computer to the network but not a second.

All computers are running XP and set to automatically assign IP's.
I have a Motorola modem and a Linksys router.
I have tried turning off/on the power to the modem and router, but that did not fix the problem.

I know I could assign static IP's to my computer and PS3, but that is a work-around and does not really fix the problem.

Thank you for any help and I apologize if this problem has been addressed already in the fourm

Jon.F.

Advertisements

Neil Jones

Neil Jones

Member 5k

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,476 posts
Why is assigning static IPs not a fix to the problem?
All those devices will work with static IPs.

hendaz

hendaz

• PipPipPip
  • 248 posts