Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

New Homebuilder Needing Some Advice

• Please log in to reply

Xardas

Xardas

• Pip
  • 1 posts
Well, I finally want to get back into the PC gaming world and upgrade from my Dell Dimension 4600. I've never built a computer before, but I've had average experience with upgrading the 4600. I've been reading up on building a computer from scratch over the past several years on and off and I'm looking for a computer that will play all of the latest games and those that will come out in at least the next 2-3 years if not more.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: I'm in no immediate hurry. If all the prices on these things slash in half within a couple of months, I'll gladly wait. I wouldn't mind getting it before Christmas though.

BUDGET RANGE: 1200-1400 Before / After Rebates (prefer to stay closer to the 1200 side).

SYSTEM USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: Gaming, Internet, Word Processing.

PARTS NOT REQUIRED: I could use advice for a keyboard and mouse since mine are getting pretty old. I don't need a monitor though. I'd like to be able to hook the system up to my Sony Bravia 32" if that's at all possible. If not, then I'll take recommendations for a monitor that will fit within my budget.

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: I'm open to whatever is cheapest. I live close to a Micro Center and Newegg is basically where I've been looking for everything. Tigerdirect doesn't seem to have a few of the parts I was looking for and they don't seem any cheaper.

COUNTRY OF ORIGIN: United States