Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Hard Drive Erase?


  • Please log in to reply

#1
Hawsky

Hawsky

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
When one decides to "off" a machine for a donation, or just between family members, is there a command you can pull of to erase all of your data, my docs, etc. as to allow the new user have a clean start.
Thanks for the help!!
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
The Noodle

The Noodle

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 82 posts
If you/.the next use have a copy of windows then you can format your hard drive from my computer.

  • Open My Computer
  • Right click on the drive you want to wipe and select format.
  • Select NTFS as the file system
Remember: This will erase everything on your hard drive, including windows, so make sure you have a windows install disc and serial key handy.

If you do not have an OS install disc do not follow the steps above, some manufacturers have their own method of reverting to a fresh OS so it might be a good idea to consult the documentation that was provided with your computer.
  • 0

#3
makai

makai

    Portlock - Oahu

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,793 posts
Formatting will wipe the OS. Is this what you really want to do?

If you're going to give it to a family member or donate it and want the OS to stay intact, along with all the programs, then there is no way to wipe personal data except by deleting the files manually. If you don't care about the OS, then you can format the hard drive, or better yet, use DBAN.
  • 0

#4
123Runner

123Runner

    Member 4k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,305 posts
The problem with DBAN and wiping the entire disk, or even a format is that you could wipe out a recovery partition (if there is one on the drive).
Most computer manufacturers either send recovery CD's or there is a hidden partition. I would be careful before a full format or DBAN.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP