Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Multi DVD Drive won't write anything

• Please log in to reply

justenhansen

justenhansen

• PipPip
  • 56 posts
I bought an hp Elite Book 6930P used and it didn't come with any burning software, but I can't even use windows to burn anything. I'm new to Windows 7, but shouldn't I be able to drop stuff on the drive icon in My Computer or open it up as a folder and put stuff in? I have a blank disk in it just says "please insert disk."
I just uninstalled the drive and reinstalled it and still the same thing. Plus it says it has the most current driver. On the side of the drive it says "RW DVD+R DL" and "Compact Disk Rewritable" and "DVD Multirecorder" and "HD DVD"
It does not say it writes to CD-R which is what I have in it though.
My device manager says the drive is a hl-dt-st dvd-rom gdr-d20n

Also, in the device manager on the "details" tab it says the value is "CD ROM"

Thanks for any ideas you have!

Advertisements

makai

makai

Portlock - Oahu

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,793 posts

On the side of the drive it says "RW DVD+R DL" and "Compact Disk Rewritable" and "DVD Multirecorder" and "HD DVD"

Is this information from the label attached to the drive or on the plastic drive door? Are there any model numbers on the label?

I guess you must have searched by now, but the model number indicated in Device Manager is for a DVD-ROM drive... it's not a rewritable type drive according to hits on Google.

justenhansen

justenhansen

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 56 posts