Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Lack of Disk Space

• Please log in to reply

Merv76

Merv76

• Pip
  • 8 posts
I am a silver surfer with 2 Years experience.I have a Toshiba L300D Laptop and run Vista Home Premium (32 bit).I am not a prolific user of the computer but I am repeatedly getting a message in the Notificaton Area stating "You are running out of disk space on Data (E:)".I am told the Manufacturers include programs that people do not use and also reserve space for the future.I have uninstalled a number of programs under "Programs and Features" but this does not seem to release any recognisable space.Programs I have are mainly Toshiba,Microsofand HP.I am reluctant to uninstall any more in case of problems.Additionally,under "Installed Updates",I have many security updates going back over the 2 years and I wonder whether deleting these would have any effect and wonder whether it would be safe to delete these especially the older ones.Advice I have been given is to attach an external hard drive (but I don't store much info) and "this message is irrelevant".
As I am a novice,your advices would be appreciated.I hope this all makes sense.
PS.The message states "click here" to make space but this only refers me to the Recycle Bin with 0 bytes.

Advertisements

Ehsanit

Ehsanit

• PipPipPip
  • 163 posts