Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Emachine 370, it shut down when booting

• Please log in to reply

Perdu

Perdu

• PipPip
  • 11 posts
Sorry if the post is difficult understand, I had a stroke and sometimes I find it difficult to find the right words.

Hi
I'm new for this forum.

My friend have a problem with his Emachine 370, running XP home
edition.
It start to boot but while the window blue bar screen shows
it just shut down.

I've build several computers but I am not good at trouble shooting.
I've tried everything I can think, safe mode, check connections, replacing ribbons, DVD drive, floppy drive. power supply even replacing the Bio battery.
I'd tried using a spare hard drive with XP installed, it start to boot then go to the
safe mode screen, it start to boot again but looped back to the safe mode screen again. I can't try install clean window because the DVD drives don't open.
I'm stuck

regards Tony

Advertisements

Waffleboy

Waffleboy

• PipPip
  • 15 posts
It sounds like a PSU problem, do you have another PSU you can try instead?

Perdu

Perdu

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
I replaced everything from a working computer except the motherboard, processor and the hard drive.
I think the hard disk is OK, I slaved it to my computer and I error check it. no errors.
Must be either motherboard, processor problem or corrupted windows.

Edited by Perdu, 27 November 2010 - 04:39 AM.

phillpower2

phillpower2

Mechanised Mod

• Global Moderator
  • 24,780 posts