Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Adding PCI graphics card to Dell Dimension 2350

• Please log in to reply

garyshiow

garyshiow

• PipPip
  • 12 posts
This isn't a new topic on this forum, but I am a new and somewhat frustrated member. I've been working on this Dell Dimension for about 8 months. Literally working. I'm a writer, I do a lot of on-line research, and I do a lot of my own graphics work. On this Dell Dimension 2350. Frustrating ain't in it, folks. I've upgraded to 1 GB RAM and I am now trying to upgrade to a PCI graphics card with 512 MB RAM in the hopes that it will take some of the pressure of my 1 GB RAM. And I play DOOM, sometimes. But mostly I work. Really. I do.

So that PNY GeForce 8400 GS PCI card arrived today. I should add that I've been working with computers since 1971, so I know just enough to be dangerous. But I do know how to swap out cards. However, it didn't work as well as it should have. Actually, it didn't work at all.

First, I went into BIOS and made sure the display was set to AUTO. It's either AUTO or ONBOARD, and I figured AUTO meant search for an active device and use it. But that's not necessarily so.

Anyway, I saved the change in BIOS and shut down the machine, added the card into the top PCI slot and rebooted. The monitor worked in DOS just fine and even displayed the Windows bootup screen. After that it was black. I shut the machine down and moved the card to the middle PCI slot. No change. Did it all over and moved the card to the bottom PCI slot. No change.