Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Restarts directly after win2k f8 screen

• Please log in to reply

SCmSTR

SCmSTR

• Pip
  • 6 posts
Hello. I am very new to this, so please bare with me. I have encountered a problem with my startup that is quite agravating.

My computer was running fine for the longest time. But then for some reason(who knows... mabee p0r|\|?[NO!]) My computer froze one time and got the "Blue Screen 'o Death." (phisical dump... etc.). A friend had mentioned to me that it was probably a BIOS issue since i have a 200gig hd that only shows as a 136gig. He has a friend who has gotten screwed this way...

Anyway, I have a ABit-KT7A and so i went and updated the drivers and the bios to abit's "standards," and followed correct procedures.

Before, my computer when started after the f8 screen just gave me a blue screen(sorry, i forgot what it said), but now it just restarts! I can still use safe mode and with networking and all of the other boots(havent tried them but im sure they still work) but when i try to use the normal boot secuence, its a continual restart! I could literaly leave and come back in several hours and it would still look like the powerbutton was just pressed. What shall i do?

Advertisements

gerryf

gerryf

Retired Staff

• Retired Staff
  • 11,365 posts
did you install all the drivers at once or one at a time? At what point, after what driver, did this occur?