Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

1st time builder tech help.

• Please log in to reply

Didjeredoo

Didjeredoo

• PipPip
  • 15 posts
Hello Geeks2go forum members. I am currently a student learning computer network systems and thought why not try my hand at building a computer. One that can run some more current games and just run smoother. I figured if I learned what goes into building a computer and build one in the long run it would be financially more sound. Instead of replacing a whole computer, sometimes you just need a new part. So I gave it a whirl. 2-4 months later I had all the pieces I needed to give it a go. I've had this problem since before I installed the gfx card where the screen would freeze and whatever sound sample was playing (be it iTunes or whatever game I was playing) would repeat. CTRL ALT DELETE would not work. Also, every now and again the display driver will just crap out (black screen for a few seconds followed by the desktop coming on screen with an error on the taskbar saying the graphics driver has recovered from an error). This error now happens sometimes as soon as I start the machine. The screen just freezes and the only way to get it back is by rebooting.
Fun fact about my IDE cable, it goes to a master drive but the slave port isn't plugged into anything. I doubt this has anything to do with the errors aforementioned but could that cause my computer to be unstable?