Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

what is mscdexnt.exe


  • Please log in to reply

#1
sem40

sem40

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 57 posts
and do I need it? I have deleted it by mistake
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
I suggest you read the 'Start Here' topic found here. With these self-help tools you have a high chance of fixing the problems on your own. If you are still having problems after following Step 3 of the guide, continue with Step 4 and 5 and post in the Malware Forum. If you are unable to run any programs, Please create a topic stating what you have tried so far and that you are unable to run any programs. Also, Please do NOT post the logs in this thread.

If you are still having issues after the malware expert gives you a clean bill of health, Please return to THIS thread and we will pursue other options to help you solve your current problem(s).
Add a link to this topic so that malware tech can see what steps have been taken here
  • 0

#3
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
Mscdex is a CD-ROM "redirector" that enables CD-ROM access from the MS-DOS
while it is possible its a trojan...try running sfc /scannow...
why did you delete it...
  • 0

#4
sem40

sem40

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 57 posts
hi, there!

I guess, i have fast to delete fingers. I have no problems so far. how do i check if i need this file? thanks for response.

I also have the problem of not having win xp pro sp3 discs since i took my computer for repair and they had installed this copy on it. what do i do? i guess, i should call them and ask for the disk?

Edited by sem40, 21 March 2011 - 09:43 AM.

  • 0

#5
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts

I also have the problem of not having win xp pro sp3 discs since i took my computer for repair and they had installed this copy on it. what do i do? i guess, i should call them and ask for the disk?

Yes but if the reason for needing them is to run the sfc /scannow you can try this.

Go Start and then to Run ("Start Search" in Vista),
Type in: sfc /scannow
Click OK (Enter in Vista).
Have Windows CD/DVD handy.
If System File Checker (sfc) finds any errors, it may ask you for the CD/DVD.
If sfc does not find any errors in Windows XP, it will simply quit, without any message.
In Vista you will receive the following message: "Windows resource protection did not find any integrity violations".

For Vista users ONLY: Navigate to C:\Windows\Logs\CBS folder. You'll see CBS.log file.
Usually, it's pretty big file, so upload it to Flyupload, and post download link.


If you don't have Windows CD....
This applies mostly to Windows XP, since Vista rarely requires use of its DVD while running "sfc"
Note This method will not necessarily work as well, as when using Windows CD, because not always ALL system files are backed up on your hard drive. Also, backed up files may be corrupted as well.

Go Start and then Run
type in regedit and click OK


Navigate to the following key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Setup

You will see various entries Values on the right hand side.

The one we want is called: SourcePath

It probably has an entry pointing to your CD-ROM drive, usually D and that is why it is asking for the XP CD.
All we need to do is change it to: C:
Now, double click the SourcePatch setting and a new box will pop up.
Change the drive letter from your CD drive to your root drive, usually C:
Close Registry Editor.

Now restart your computer and try sfc /scannow again!


Thanks to Broni for the instructions



Revised and Simplified:


Do you have a valid XP CD?

If so, place it in your CD ROM drive and follow the instructions below:
  • Click on Start and select Run... type sfc /scannow (note the space) (Let this run undisturbed until the window with the blue progress bar goes away)

SFC
- Which stands for System File Checker,
retrieves the correct version of the file from %Systemroot%\System32\Dllcache or the Windows installation source files, and then replaces the incorrect file.
If you want to see what was replaced, right-click My Computer and click on Manage. In the new window that appears, expand the Event Viewer (by clicking on the + symbol next to it) and then click on System.
  • 0

#6
sem40

sem40

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 57 posts
ok, i have a problem now.

Thanks for help, guys. i am pretty dumb in computers, but, i guess, i can follow instructions.

rshaffer61, i've tried your directions and sfc /scannow did not work. also, d drive does not play music anymore. and to top all this, i don't have xp cd because it did not come with the comp. when i bought it.

what do i do now?

btw, what do i do with the info when i open system - it's all greek to me.

Edited by sem40, 21 March 2011 - 01:27 PM.

  • 0

#7
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Go to Start then to Run
Type in compmgmt.msc and click Enter
On left side click on Disk Management
On right side you will see you hard drive.
Now I need you to take a screenshot and attach it to your next reply. Do the following to take a screenshot while the above is open and showing on your desktop.

To do a screenshot please have click on your Print Screen on your keyboard. It is normally the key above your number pad between the F12 key and the Scroll Lock key
Now go to Start and then to All Programs
Scroll to Accessories and then click on Paint
In the Empty White Area click and hold the CTRL key and then click the V
Go to the File option at the top and click on Save as
Save as file type JPEG and save it to your Desktop


Attach it to your next reply
  • 0

#8
sem40

sem40

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 57 posts
the situation is such that i don't have Paint in accessories, so, what do i do next? please do not abandon me as i'm pretty lost. thanks
  • 0

#9
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
go here and get version 5.3...
remember to save your screen shots as .JPEG or they may to large to upload to this site...
http://min.us/mvpehIq
  • 0

#10
happyrock

happyrock

    Tech Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 9,285 posts
here's how to use it
  • 0

Advertisements


#11
sem40

sem40

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 57 posts
wow, boy i'm nervous! i've added the file. thanks, happyrock

Attached Thumbnails

  • 2011-03-21_190446.jpg

  • 0

#12
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
You can borrow a XP Sp3 disk and run the SFC steps.
  • 0

#13
sem40

sem40

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 57 posts
where can i do that?
  • 0

#14
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
From the place that loaded it. A friend if need be. You just have to make sure it is the same version that is loaded.
Home, Media or Pro
SP3
Most likely a OEM version.
  • 0

#15
sem40

sem40

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 57 posts
i hoped you'll tell me something different. so, i'll drag this machine to the shop where they put xp pro in. btw, what did the attached file tell you about my computer and what's the answer to my original question? it seems that i deleted a needed file. Thanks guys for help
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP