Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Help with wiping computer

• Please log in to reply

Freshkidpee

Freshkidpee

• Pip
  • 8 posts
Hey users of the geeks to go forum im a kind of a noob in some parts of computers and am having trouble wiping my dell inspiron 1520 with windows 2000 i believe i have tried what they said on there website but they only allow support for models of 2009 and up i believe i got my computer in 2007 or 2008 and have no disks any tips on to about doing so thanks for the help in advance

Advertisements

Macboatmaster

Macboatmaster

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,237 posts
Hi and welcome to GeekstoGo

What exactly is it you want to achieve evntually.

Are you simply trying to wipe the hard drive to, sell/give to someone, the computer
OR is your intention to install another operating system and if so what.

Freshkidpee

Freshkidpee

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
i am planning on selling it or getting rid of it and yes i just want to clear it off all programs ,pictures,videos everything but the os and programs that come installed on the computer

123Runner

123Runner

Member 4k

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,527 posts
With a computer that old there will not be a recovery partition that would allow you to go back to day 1 when you got it. You also indicated you have no disks.
The process will be painful (but can be done). You would have to go into every area of the computer and delete your personal items.
Uninstall all programs you can.
Go to IE and delete out favorites.
Clear all temp files and caches.