Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

PC Shuts down. after 1 second

• Please log in to reply

sahneprinz

sahneprinz

• Pip
  • 9 posts
Hello there! It's my first time here, so please be patient! And pleased to meet you!

I looked around a bit in the forum at first, before posting, but I thought maybe now I should do so.
About the problem: I have a 3 year old PC, and two days ago it started to not pass POST (as I think it is called) i.e. it seems to boot for one second: I can hear the fans, and it shuts down afterwards.
The first time that happened, I opened the case and removed A LOT of dust.
I tried booting, and voila! it worked! (yay)
The day afterwards, it started with the shut down again.
I tried checking the different power supplies: disconnected the HD, and it worked. So I changed the power connector to the HD, and it worked! (yay!)
To check if it was the power connector to the HD, I shut down the pc after some hours, went for a walk and came back again. And again, it only started for one second, and then it shut down. I tried disconnecting everything: HD, DVD drive, Video card. Only the MOBO was connected to power through those two connectors which I do not know the name. (that big one, and that little one with only four pins.) It didn't work. I tried disconnecting the smallest one from the MOBO and tried again. It started up. I shut off everything quickly.