Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

3 PC's on 'Wired' Network


  • Please log in to reply

#1
moondog830

moondog830

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 598 posts
The issue is ... I have 3 Computers, each on the same network through a LinkSys 'Wired' Router. All 3 have been working just fine until a couple of days ago and now one of them can not surf the internet. I have check the cable by hooking it up to my laptop and the laptop can connect to the net. It shows up as connected, but will not transfer data.

Any help is appreciated!

thanks

dog
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Does the system see the other computers on the network?
  • 0

#3
moondog830

moondog830

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 598 posts
okay, let's pretend I'm retarded (not that big a stretch) but I'm not sure how to check. I know that the other 2 pc's can use the internet ...
  • 0

#4
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Ok if you don't know what I mean that most likely the systems are not networked together to share data between them.
Even so I would start with the onboard network card being the culprit.

Please Go to

1: START and the click on RUN
2: Type in devmgmt.msc
3: Click Enter


To do a screenshot please have click on your Print Screen on your keyboard. It is normally the key above your number pad between the F12 key and the Scroll Lock key
Now go to Start and then to All Programs
Scroll to Accessories and then click on Paint
In the Empty White Area click and hold the CTRL key and then click the V
Go to the File option at the top and click on Save as
Save as file type JPEG and save it to your Desktop


Attach it to your next reply
  • 0

#5
moondog830

moondog830

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 598 posts
looks normal to me

Posted Image
  • 0

#6
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Yep nothing showing wrong with the network.
Let's see if there is a event for it.

  • Please download the Event Viewer Tool by Vino Rosso VEW and save it to your Desktop:
  • Double-click VEW.exe
  • Under 'Select log to query', select (as appropriate):
    • Application
    • System
  • Under 'Select type to list', select (as appropriate):
    • Error
    • Information
    • Warning
Then use the 'Date of events' or 'Number of events' as follows:

Either:
  • Click the radio button for 'Number of events'
    Type 3 in the 1 to 20 box (or any number from 1 to 20)
    Then click the Run button.
    Notepad will open with the output log.

  • Click the radio button for 'Date of events'
    In the From: boxes type today's date (presuming the crash happened today) 13 04 2011
    In the To: boxes type today's date (presuming the crash happened today) 14 04 2011
    Then click the Run button.
    Notepad will open with the output log.
Please post the Output log in your next reply
  • 0

#7
moondog830

moondog830

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 598 posts
I started looking around on MY PC in the network and I can see all 3 PC's on the network (is that what you meant initially? Does it matter what operating systems are involved?

dog
  • 0

#8
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
It shouldn't matter what OS unless one of the systems has Linux on it.
What browser are you using and what version of the browser?
What firewall is installed on the problem system?
  • 0

#9
moondog830

moondog830

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 598 posts
Until today, the firewall was not even running, but it was the Windows Firewall on WinXP ... (I'm guessing my daughter's stupid boyfriend had something to do with that).

she uses Chrome and I'm not sure it's the LATEST edition ... how do I check?

dog
  • 0

#10
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
This looks to be the latest stable version The Chrome Stable channel has been updated to 10.0.648.205

I'm wondering if windows firewall has somehow denied access tot he internet.

Try this and see if it will work.
Boot into Safe Mode with Networking and try the internet then. If it works then we may be looking at a driver issue or maybe a service issue.
Also just for my suspicion try the following.

  • Please download the Event Viewer Tool by Vino Rosso VEW and save it to your Desktop:
  • Double-click VEW.exe
  • Under 'Select log to query', select (as appropriate):
    • Application
    • System
  • Under 'Select type to list', select (as appropriate):
    • Error
    • Information
    • Warning
Then use the 'Date of events' or 'Number of events' as follows:

Either:
  • Click the radio button for 'Number of events'
    Type 3 in the 1 to 20 box (or any number from 1 to 20)
    Then click the Run button.
    Notepad will open with the output log.

  • Click the radio button for 'Date of events'
    In the From: boxes type today's date (presuming the crash happened today) 13 04 2011
    In the To: boxes type today's date (presuming the crash happened today) 14 04 2011
    Then click the Run button.
    Notepad will open with the output log.
Please post the Output log in your next reply
  • 0

#11
Digerati

Digerati

    Grumpy Ol' MSgt (Ret.)

  • Retired Staff
  • 3,997 posts
  • MVP

Until today, the firewall was not even running, but it was the Windows Firewall on WinXP ... (I'm guessing my daughter's stupid boyfriend had something to do with that).

Well, that is not good. I would perform a thorough malware scan. If all 3 computers are seen in the Network, then networking is working on that computer and it seems just Internet access is off. Again, that points to Firewall issues, or malware.
  • 0

#12
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Thanks Digerati and since the systems are networked I would also strongly suggest a malware tech maybe taking a look at the system also. Nothing worse then having a infection that is transferred through a network and infecting all the systems.
I would suggest further action by disconnecting this system from the network until you have been cleared by malware techs that the system is cleaned and healthy.

I am adding the malware instructions below if you would like to follow our instructions and have the system looked at.

I suggest you read the 'Start Here' topic found HERE. With these self-help tools you have a high chance of fixing the problems on your own. If you are still having problems after following Step 3 of the guide, continue with Step 4 and 5 and post in the Malware Forum. If you are unable to run any programs, Please create a topic stating what you have tried so far and that you are unable to run any programs. Also, Please do NOT post the logs in this thread.

If you are still having issues after the malware expert gives you a clean bill of health, Please return to THIS thread and we will pursue other options to help you solve your current problem(s).
Add a link to this topic so that malware tech can see what steps have been taken here
  • 0

#13
moondog830

moondog830

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 598 posts
Okay, thanks, I will get on this as soon as I can ... I'll keep you posted ... thanks for the help!

dog

Edited by moondog830, 15 April 2011 - 01:05 PM.

  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP