Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Advice on buying new computer!

• Please log in to reply

mac90

mac90

• Pip
  • 3 posts
Hello everyone,

I'm new to this forum and it seems like a great place to seek advice and help. :D

Here's the case; I work as a graphic designer (freelance) and I am looking to buy a new computer that can handle really heavy work in Photoshop/Illustrator. I'm also thinking of learning 3D-software, like Zbrush. So a real workstation in other words. My current computer isn't too great for this kind of work but it isn't exactly bad either. It's alright but it can get quite frustrating when working on large PSD files for example.

The specs of my current computer is:

Intel Core2 Quad Q9550 @ 2.83GHz
3 GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce 8500 GT
Windows XP (32 bit)

Now, my instant thought was a Mac (which is dominant in the advertising business). I have been thinking about getting a Mac Pro with the following specs:

2x 2.4GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon Westmere (8 cores)
12GB RAM (6x 2GB)
ATI Radeon HD 5770 1GB

Would that mean a big difference in performance compared to my current computer? I know the specs obviously looks better with the Mac, but as I am not too knowledgeable about hardware I was wondering about the processor speeds (the Mac has 8 cores compared to my 4, but also has lower frequency. Does that matter in this case?)

I would love to hear your opinions!

Thanks,
Marcus

Advertisements

ZaRMan

ZaRMan

• PipPipPip
  • 164 posts