Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

PC Gamer rig, help needed

• Please log in to reply

jo~jo

jo~jo

• Pip
  • 4 posts
Hi there!

I've decided that as my 3 year old laptop can barely play Minecraft, I'm in need of an upgrade. And what better upgrade to have than a gaming PC?

Unfortunately, I have zero experience or knowledge in this area except what I have garnered from PC Gamer magazine. So let's go with their rig, as of April this year!

Motherboard
MSI H55M-ED55 - £59 INCOMPATIBLE

Due to a mistake in the magazine, the motherboard is incompatible with the new SandyBridge i5 processor. Adam recommends this motherboard for now until further notice.

Processor
Intel Core i5 2300 - £149
Memory
4GB Corsair Value DDR3 - £34
3D Card
MSI GeForce GTX 460 1024MB - £155
DVD Drive
Generic - £18
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 7200rpm 1.5TB - £47
Case
Antec One Hundred - £40
Power Supply
OCZ StealthXStream 600W - £57
Monitor
Viewsonic VP2365WB - £194

As you can see, there's a slight problem with the motherboard/processor being incompatible. Would anybody be able to help me find a motherboard that is compatible for a similar price?

If there is anything else that I could buy instead that would improve this rig, please let me know - as I said, I have no experience and would not know if something else was blatantly incompatible. However, I am fairly confident that I will be able to physically put it together, with help from the internet and a friend of mine :)

Thanks in advance!

Advertisements

Digerati

Digerati

Grumpy Ol' MSgt (Ret.)