Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

BSOD tcpip.sys & ntoskrnl.exe

• Please log in to reply

guitar_freak8894

guitar_freak8894

• PipPip
  • 17 posts
hi,

my laptop constanly freezes or goes to BSOD when using skype or msn. So far theyre the only programs that it has crashed while using. I used Blue screen view to try and find the problem and it highlights tcpip.sys and ntoskrnl.exe as the source of the problems. Whether this is accurate or not I'm not so sure. I'm not very good with computer tech but if anyone could please help I would be grateful. The 3 times it has gone to BSOD the minidump files are attached. I don't get any minidumps for when it just freezes.

Attached Files

Advertisements

Ztruker

Ztruker

Member 5k

• Technician
  • 7,091 posts
All the threads I find on this point to a NIC or Wireless driver problem. Since this is a laptop I'm guessing you are using wireless. If so, go to the computer manufacturers support site and download the latest driver for the wireless device. Ditto if you are using a wired (NIC) connection instead of a wireless. Download the latest driver available and see if that helps.

If you need help finding the right driver, post the make and model number and I (or others here) will help find it.

dellaseren

dellaseren

• Pip
  • 9 posts
I'm having a similar problem with BSOD and tcpip.sys! I couldn't find any newer drivers for anything to do with my wireless! I can't seem to find any help on the net for it anywhere either! Good luck! I'll let you know if I find the answer!