Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Internal Hard Drive as External

• Please log in to reply

hospitaldoctor

hospitaldoctor

• PipPipPip
  • 318 posts
Hi,

I have an internal hard drive (Western Digital WD6400AAKS Caviar Blue) from a dell computer that I would like to use as an External hard drive for my MACBOOK PRO that runs on MAC, not windows.
So how can I do this? What specific wires and products do I need to purchase in order to do this effectively? How do carry this out?
I am a noob, so I would appreciate any help on this please
Thanks

Edited by hospitaldoctor, 24 June 2011 - 05:39 PM.

Advertisements

Kemasa

Kemasa

Nobody

• Technician
  • 1,727 posts
You need to get an external case for a SATA drive. If your Macbook Pro has an eSATA port, then that will be the fastest connection, but you can also use USB. Most come with a power cord (AC power) and a USB or eSATA cable, so you just would plug it in.

Here is just a quick example:

http://www.newegg.co...8-022-_-Product

Personally, I prefer to have one with a cooling fan, but if you are not going to use the drive much, then it should be fine.

Other examples:

http://www.newegg.co...2-016-_-Product

http://www.newegg.co...2-002-_-Product

http://www.newegg.co...7-032-_-Product

http://www.newegg.co...2-023-_-Product

These are just random examples from NewEgg, but you can find similar products from other places. I don't have experience with these specific enclosures. If you don't think that you will ever use eSATA, then you can just get a USB version.

hospitaldoctor