Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

TFC Use Causing Windows 7 to crash

• Please log in to reply

daisychick3299

daisychick3299

• PipPip
  • 32 posts
I have been using TFC on Win 7 for several months with no problem but the last couple of times I have used it, I have received this message. "Windows has encountered a critical problem and will restart automatically in one minute. Please save your work now." I have also noticed that the desktop icons do not disappear like they do when I use TFC on my laptop with Windows Vista. What could be causing this problem?

Advertisements

rshaffer61

rshaffer61

• 34,114 posts
Are you receiving just a error message or is the system blue screening?

Please follow the steps below to enter the Event Viewer program in Vista\Win7. This will give me more information into what is causing your issue. You can get to Event viewer two ways and I will post both for you.

Method One

• Go to
• Start
• In the Search box type in Event Viewer in the search box and press Enter
• From this point you can follow from step four from the below method as they will be the same.
Method Two

• Go to Start
• Right click on the Computer Icon and select Manage
• Navigate to the Event Viewer, You will be prompted to accept the action you are going to perform. Click continue
• On the left window pane click on Local and then expand the Windows entry. This will allow you to see every error for the past 24 hours as well as the last 7 days in the right window pane.