Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

"Operating System Not Found" and after restarting it is "o


  • Please log in to reply

#1
nighttenjo12

nighttenjo12

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
Hi! I'm new here. I'm just worried about the thing that happened to my laptop a while ago. I was watching Youtube videos and then a blue screen appeared saying that "A problem has been detected and windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer...." and it restarted. It loaded the Vaio logo but then it became black and it says that "Operating System Not Found". So I tried restarting it and I reached the part where I need to choose safe mode, safe mode with networking and start normally. So I chose safe mode and do system restore, run av. Nothing was found. Then started my laptop normally and it is okay now. (I'm using it.)

I just want to ask what happened?

Thanks. I'm just worried. =)
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Hello nightteno12.... Welcome to
GeeksToGo, :)
:unsure: :yes:

I'm sorry to hear about your issue. We will try to help you resolve this as soon as possible.
  • Please understand we are all volunteers and we are not here all the time.
  • Sometimes it may be a extended amount of time to get back to you. If it has been
    more then 3 days please shoot me a PM and I will try to get back to you quickly
    then.
  • Please do the following and supply the requested information as needed. If you
    don't understand my instructions please ask and I will try to explain them
    clearer for you.
  • Do not attempt any steps unless instructed or ask before to
    make sure they will not cause any further issues.





Could be a sign of a failing hard drive and the system is warning you.

Run hard drive diagnostics: http://www.tacktech....ay.cfm?ttid=287
Make sure, you select tool, which is appropriate for the brand of your hard drive.
Depending on the program, it'll create bootable floppy, or bootable CD.
If downloaded file is of .iso type, use ImgBurn: http://www.imgburn.com/ to burn .iso file to a CD (select "Write image file to disc" option), and make the CD bootable.

NOTE. If your hard drive is made by Toshiba, try the Hitachi DFT CD Image version of the software

Thanks to Broni for the instructions
  • 0

#3
nighttenjo12

nighttenjo12

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
thanks for the response but how will i know the brand of the harddrive?
  • 0

#4
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Open My Computer and then Right click on the C drive and go to Properties.
Then in the new window click on Hardware and it should list your drives there.
Post the model numbers of the disk drives and I can tell you what you have.
  • 0

#5
nighttenjo12

nighttenjo12

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
ST9500325AS
and
MATSHITA DVDRAM UJ8A0AS
  • 0

#6
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Seagate is your hard drive.
So you need the SeaTools cd iso version and then follow the instructions to make a bootable disk to run the tests. :)
  • 0

#7
nighttenjo12

nighttenjo12

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
Is this the right one to download? SeaTools for Windows v1.2.0.5 (03.09.2011)

I'm sorry, I'm really not familiar with these....
  • 0

#8
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Nope you want the DOS version.
SeaTools for DOS v2.22 (Graphical) (07.01.2010)
and then this one in Seagate:
SeaTools for DOS(ISO CD-ROM Image)

The reason is you want the system to boot to the cdrom first and that way windows is not even started.
  • 0

#9
nighttenjo12

nighttenjo12

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
Hi, I did the test using Seatools. The results are:
Short Test-Passed
Long Test- Passed
Acoustic Test- I think it is passed too.

What other things can I do to check my problem? Thanks
  • 0

#10
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Download BlueScreenView
No installation required.
Double click on BlueScreenView.exe file to run the program.
When scanning is done, go Edit>Select All.
Go File>Save Selected Items, and save the report as BSOD.txt.
Open BSOD.txt in Notepad, copy all content, and paste it into your next reply.

Thanks to Broni for the instructions and program
  • 0

Advertisements


#11
nighttenjo12

nighttenjo12

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
Hi,

I followed your instructions but it says "0 crashes"
Posted Image

edit:
I used ccleaner yesterday , it deleted those files?

Edited by nighttenjo12, 29 July 2011 - 06:41 AM.

  • 0

#12
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Well it might delete the minidumps but it won't delete the events.


Please follow the steps below to enter the Event Viewer program in Vista. This will give me more information into what is causing your issue. You can get to Event viewer two ways and I will post both for you.

Method One

• Go to
• Start
• In the Search box type in Event Viewer in the search box and press Enter
• From this point you can follow from step four from the below method as they will be the same.
Method Two

• Go to Start
• Right click on the Computer Icon and select Manage
• Navigate to the Event Viewer, You will be prompted to accept the action you are going to perform. Click continue
• On the left window pane click on Local and then expand the Windows entry. This will allow you to see every error for the past 24 hours as well as the last 7 days in the right window pane.
• Look for the ones that correspond to the times that your issue occurred.
• If any are found please double click and expand the error. This will open and give you more information on the error.
• Please include that in your next reply.

  • 0

#13
nighttenjo12

nighttenjo12

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
Log Name: System
Source: Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-Power
Date: 7/27/2011 7:06:46 PM
Event ID: 41
Task Category: (63)
Level: Critical
Keywords: (2)
User: SYSTEM
Computer:
Description:
The system has rebooted without cleanly shutting down first. This error could be caused if the system stopped responding, crashed, or lost power unexpectedly.
Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.micro.../events/event">
<System>
<Provider Name="Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-Power" Guid="{331C3B3A-2005-44C2-AC5E-77220C37D6B4}" />
<EventID>41</EventID>
<Version>2</Version>
<Level>1</Level>
<Task>63</Task>
<Opcode>0</Opcode>
<Keywords>0x8000000000000002</Keywords>
<TimeCreated SystemTime="2011-07-27T11:06:46.274824200Z" />
<EventRecordID>16831</EventRecordID>
<Correlation />
<Execution ProcessID="4" ThreadID="8" />
<Channel>System</Channel>
<Computer>Arguson</Computer>
<Security UserID="S-1-5-18" />
</System>
<EventData>
<Data Name="BugcheckCode">0</Data>
<Data Name="BugcheckParameter1">0x0</Data>
<Data Name="BugcheckParameter2">0x0</Data>
<Data Name="BugcheckParameter3">0x0</Data>
<Data Name="BugcheckParameter4">0x0</Data>
<Data Name="SleepInProgress">false</Data>
<Data Name="PowerButtonTimestamp">0</Data>
</EventData>
</Event>

This is the only one with a Critical level during the day that it crashed. This is the one right?

Edited by nighttenjo12, 29 July 2011 - 08:08 AM.

  • 0

#14
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Interesting, I want like to see the voltages and temps please.

Download Speedfan (The download link is to the right), and install it. Once it's installed, run the program and post here the information it shows.
The information I want you to post is the stuff that is circled in the example picture I have attached.
To make sure we are getting all the correct information it would help us if you were to attach a screenshot like the one below of your Speedfan results.

To do a screenshot please have click on your Print Screen on your keyboard.
  • It is normally the key above your number pad between the F12 key and the Scroll Lock key
  • Now go to Start and then to All Programs
  • Scroll to Accessories and then click on Paint
  • In the Empty White Area click and hold the CTRL key and then click the V
  • Go to the File option at the top and click on Save as
  • Save as file type JPEG and save it to your Desktop
  • Attach it to your next reply

Posted Image
  • 0

#15
nighttenjo12

nighttenjo12

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
Posted Image

I run the program but it doesn't have the values that you encircled. I dunno why...
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP