Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

First Time Builder needing component advice

• Please log in to reply

HisServant77

HisServant77

• PipPip
  • 20 posts
Hi everyone,

My name is Michael, newbie here.
I've been wanting to get into building PCs for a while now but never did take the plunge. I'm the type to always worry I'll not know enough and end up doing something wrong. So I prefer having the experts help me out and give me some advice.

I have absolutely none of those experts around me in person to help, so I was hoping I could get any help from you all here

I've done a bit of research and learned a bit of the lingo and all from various sites. However, as I'm ready to buy the components I was hoping I could see your advice on them! I'm wanting to build a computer that, of course, will last a good while before I should upgrade. I want it powerful enough for slightly-above average type media editing. Capable of HD of course. Gaming (not as hardcore, but still able to handle hardcore gaming if I so choose). I'd love for the ability later on to record video from my PS3 without having to buy an external DVR (will if I must). I'm hoping for at least 2 HDDs, 2 optical drives, and a card reader drive. I know all that depends upon the mobo having enough slots for sata connections and such, but I'm just listing all of what I'd like, to make sure I'm not overlooking, or if you have a better idea.