Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Building a good PC for Design work

• Please log in to reply

Bridstien

Bridstien

• PipPip
  • 10 posts
Hi
I am a Designer/Illustrator and i am looking to build my own PC as I have a very low budget. I was wondering if anybody could help me what kind of spec i should be looking at to run, Adobe creative suite well, be fast at running multiple programs and can handle high quality visuals for after affects and maybe 3D Max.

i Know its along shot with the budget i'm on but the spec i have at the mo is as follows....which im sure is embarrassing

Windows XP pro 2002
AMD Athlon XP 2500+ 1.83GHz
2GB or RAM

Sapphire Atlantis Radeon 9800 PRO Ultimate Edition 256MB

Abit-NF7

Anyway im a bit of a novice and stuck on what to get if a build it, and i have been tempted by this offer at the moment... what do you think?

http://www.coopelect...COM-C660_10D-BK

thanks

Brad

Advertisements

Digerati

Digerati

Grumpy Ol' MSgt (Ret.)

• Retired Staff
  • 3,999 posts
  • MVP

... what do you think?

I think I am confused. You say you want to build a good PC but post a link to an entry-level notebook. :)

Sadly, designing can be very resource demanding - especially with graphics and good graphics for designing can be very expensive, and power hungry.