Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

First time building a PC... needing some assistance please!

• Please log in to reply

Josh Wright

Josh Wright

• Pip
  • 6 posts
Hi everyone! This is my first time building a PC! I am really heavy into movie editing, special effects, and gaming in the highest graphics and FPS (frames per second) possible! I am really need a great computer build and I have some parts picked out! However, I think some may be a bit overkill so any help cutting down on costs would be fantastic!

Part list permalink / Part price breakdown by merchant

CPU: Intel Core i5-2500K 3.3GHz Quad-Core Processor ($214.99 @ SuperBiiz)
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master RR-B10-212P-G1 76.8 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($24.99 @ SuperBiiz)
Motherboard: MSI P67A-G45 (B3) ATX LGA1155 Motherboard ($134.99 @ Newegg)
Memory: G.Skill Sniper 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1333 Memory ($48.99 @ Newegg)
Hard Drive: Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive ($49.99 @ Newegg)
Video Card: XFX Radeon HD 6950 1GB Video Card ($217.55 @ Newegg)
Case: Lian-Li PC-K58W ATX Mid Tower Case ($69.99 @ Newegg)
Power Supply: Antec 750W ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply ($99.99 @ Amazon)
Optical Drive: Sony AD-7260S-0B DVD/CD Writer ($19.99 @ Newegg)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 (64-bit) ($99.99 @ Newegg)
Total: $981.46
(Prices include shipping and discounts when available.)
(Generated 2011-09-15 16:40 EDT-0400)

Advertisements

iammykyl

iammykyl

Tech Staff

• Technician
  • 7,659 posts
Hi Josh. Posted Image