Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Unable to repair Windows XP, Disk Boot Failure Insert System Disk Mess

• Please log in to reply

Kat23

Kat23

• Pip
  • 4 posts
Hi I’m hoping someone can offer some assistance, I’ve read through numerous other posts but nothing is quite the same, apologies if this scenario has already been answered in the past (I’m new to using these forums).

Computer was working fine one day and then next day I went to turn on and received the following message “Disk boot failure, insert system disk and press enter” – I’m running Windows XP on this PC. I’ve since tried to reboot in safe mode (F8 and then the F6 option too), but no luck neither will go to the next screen. Then tried, to reboot with the Windows XP disc (the original one not a copy) and attempted the steps for repairing (first option “To set up WINDOWS XP now, press enter”) however I didn’t even get to the next step as the computer could not find the hard drive. So I F3’d to exit. I’ve since, tried putting the hard drive into another computer but it didn’t even recognize that it existed (but not entirely sure I did this right – you just plug in the same way?), and also tried rebooting the PC without the hard drive and still received the same black screen and message.

This area of computers is not ‘my thing’ so I'm concerned I may have missed something or not checked something correctly. I would really love to retrieve the data files on the hard drive if it's possible. I’m hoping someone can give me advice on the following: