Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

PC won't boot - HELP!


  • Please log in to reply

#76
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Try starting it in Safe Mode and let me know the last driver it loads before restarting.
This may give us a ideal what is causing it.
  • 0

Advertisements


#77
GhostLoad

GhostLoad

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 326 posts
How do I make it start in safe mode, and how can I tell what drivers are loading last.

Just noticed that a small message (before the Windows loading graphic) said something like "no hard disk detected" for a fraction of a second, barely long enough to read 2-3 words. I think I might have connected my hard drive to the wrong SATA port. Gonna open her up and take a look.

Edited by GhostLoad, 14 March 2012 - 09:15 AM.

  • 0

#78
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Normally tapping F8 during post will bring up the Advance Boot Menu where you can choose Safe Mode.
When you start this way it will list drivers as they are loading sorta like the old DOS systems.
  • 0

#79
GhostLoad

GhostLoad

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 326 posts
I switched the SATA plug for my hard drive to the first 6GPS port, and now whenever I try to boot,I get a black screen written the message "master boot record error. Press a key" then it hours to the windows passing graphic for a few seconds before restarting and doing it all over again.
  • 0

#80
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
What is the 6GPS port and are you talking about the SATA ports on the motherboard?
If so what if you switched it back to the original? Does it then boot?
  • 0

#81
GhostLoad

GhostLoad

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 326 posts
I tried plugging it into the port marked SATA 6GB/s #1. That's what made it say the master boot message.

Edit: Plugged it back into the 3Gb/s SATA port, and that momentary "no hard disk is detected"message popped up. Right after though, it said "master but record error. Press a key". Now what?

Edited by GhostLoad, 14 March 2012 - 09:56 AM.

  • 0

#82
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
What was it originally plugged in to?
  • 0

#83
GhostLoad

GhostLoad

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 326 posts
It was originally plugged into the same port it's currently plugged into.

Edit: I've tried all 8 of my SATA Ports, but get the exact same result every time. I can't figure out why Windows won't boot properly.

Edited by GhostLoad, 14 March 2012 - 11:12 AM.

  • 0

#84
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
OK is this the hard drive out of the original system?
Does the bios identify the hard drive at all?
Are you sure the power connector and data cable are connected securely?
They should be on port 0 or 1 depending on your motherboard.
  • 0

#85
GhostLoad

GhostLoad

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 326 posts
Its the hard drive I was using before on this PC prior to upgrading my components. The BIOS recognizes the hard drive is there and plugged in, and it's connected to port 0.
  • 0

Advertisements


#86
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
OK so is it partitioned and formatted waiting for a OS or is it the OS that was installed on it from the old system?
Remember you have changed the motherboard, cpu and memory so any drivers probably will not work.
  • 0

#87
GhostLoad

GhostLoad

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 326 posts
No.... it's just my hard drive straight out of the other one....
  • 0

#88
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Ahh ok so nothing on it then right?
Run hard drive diagnostics: http://www.tacktech....ay.cfm?ttid=287
Make sure, you select tool, which is appropriate for the brand of your hard drive.
Depending on the program, it'll create bootable floppy, or bootable CD.
If downloaded file is of .iso type, use ImgBurn: http://www.imgburn.com/ to burn .iso file to a CD (select "Write image file to disc" option), and make the CD bootable.

NOTE. If your hard drive is made by Toshiba, try the Hitachi DFT CD Image version of the software

Thanks to Broni for the instructions
  • 0

#89
GhostLoad

GhostLoad

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 326 posts
No, not nothing on it, it's 3/4ths full with my stuff. I didn't do anything with it or to our before unplugging it from my computer.
  • 0

#90
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts

No, not nothing on it, it's 3/4ths full with my stuff

:confused: Is it empty or is it 3\4 way full with stuff?
It won't boot unless you format it and install the OS.
I'm confused a little which way it is.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP