Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Building Computer - problem?

• Please log in to reply

Noprisoners

Noprisoners

• PipPip
  • 10 posts
Hello all, I'm relatively new to building computers. I've done one already, my own, which works fine and am using right now.

My friend had seen my system and wanted me to help build him one as well. Thing is, when I was doing an external build for his computer, something that didn't happen to mine is happening to his. When I try short circuiting those 2 pins - to turn the computer on and see if everything runs correctly - all his fans start, then stop, start, then stop. Almost as if there isn't enough power to them. Can you guys help me figure out what could be the problem here and how to go about solving it? Could the Power Supply or MB be faulty?

I've got the 24 pin connector in, the 8 pin, the 2 PCI Express plugs into the Videocard, the RAM and the CPU fan all plugged in. It should work, but it isn't staying on.

Here is his build:

http://www.newegg.co...ID=25qdxae5xvj4

http://www.newegg.co...D=14m1uwwxtwx7j

http://www.newegg.co...ID=alldszwgiwoy

http://www.newegg.co...D=16dw0rhkeckya

http://www.newegg.co...D=1mm77gsrsdfta

http://www.newegg.co...ID=dy4fcdb58ixj

http://www.newegg.co...D=1slr6rd3ux37p

http://www.newegg.co...ID=ljumq0jm7ijb

Edited by Noprisoners, 14 March 2012 - 02:55 PM.

Advertisements

NKGuy

NKGuy

• PipPip
  • 77 posts