Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

big external disk drive problem

• Please log in to reply

ying423

ying423

• Pip
  • 4 posts
hi there, ive read some similar situations to mine here, but none seem to be exact matches.

ive been using an iomega 500GB external drive for about 2 years to store music and photos rather than taking up my C drive memory. its big and hard to transport so was considering replacing it next pay check. it had been working fine but a few days ago i noticed that the usb cable doesnt fit tightly into the hard drive box anymore and needed to be
wiggled a bit or the drive would not show up. then yesterday while watching a movie stored on there i saw a windows error message saying that the drive needed to be
formatted, i declined this and a while later it popped up again. later it kept giving me a message saying that the drive needed to be connected to a high power usb port even though it has its own power supply. i checked the usb was plugged in properly and when i looked again the drive disappeared from the computer and i couldnt find it. this morning it was found as drive D without naming it iomega as usual. i could not open the folder to view any files.

after some research i checked in disk manager where it showed up as healthy and i switched it to require safe hardware removal rather than plug and play because that was the only option to change. i also ran virus checks and malware but nothing was found. when i rebooted the