Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Error Code trying to copy files from old CDs 0x80070571

• Please log in to reply

Lori Sorrells

Lori Sorrells

• Pip
  • 8 posts
I am a professional photographer, and have a collection of CDs burned in 2002, 2003 from a copy/restoration artist I used back then. She would periodically give me CDs with multiple client files on them. Until now, I never had reason to access these files. I am trying to copy them to my PC running Windows 7 home edition so I can burn off a new CD for a client who wishes to purchase his files and make more prints. I would like to copy over all the disks and sort for all the clients, but am having problems.

Some disks will copy images just fine. Others have a some files that will and some that wont. The files I need right now are on a disk that won't let me copy anything. They are mainly PSD files made from her Mac, and when I try and copy I get this message: "Error 0x80070571 the Disk structure is corrupted and unreadable." I have searched for answers but all other posts related to this error code seem to be caused by external drives or other issues that are different than my circumstances.

What causes this? Why can I get some files off of a disk but not others? If I try and drag and drop them to Photoshop, nothing happens at all. I have tried the disk on three different PCs, each running a different OS... Windows 7, Vista and XP. On XP it wont even give me the error code.