Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Searchnu.com/406 removal. Help me please [Closed]


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked

#16
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Is it still showing in FF ?
  • 0

Advertisements


#17
kinggeo10

kinggeo10

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
Yes, afraid so
  • 0

#18
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts

FF - prefs.js..browser.search.defaultenginename: "Search Results"
FF - prefs.js..browser.search.order.1: "Search Results"
FF - prefs.js..extensions.enabledItems: [email protected]:10.0.625.0

These are the problem

Could you start Firefox and disable all extensions

Then run OTL with the following script in the box and then press run fix

:OTL
IE - HKU\S-1-5-21-1786822098-119298200-2481993159-1000\..\URLSearchHook: {D3D233D5-9F6D-436C-B6C7-E63F77503B30} - No CLSID value found
FF - prefs.js..browser.search.defaultenginename: "Search Results"
FF - prefs.js..browser.search.order.1: "Search Results"
FF - prefs.js..extensions.enabledItems: [email protected]:10.0.625.0
FF - prefs.js..keyword.URL: "http://dts.search-re...id=406&sr=0&q="
[2011/11/24 00:26:22 | 000,002,471 | ---- | M] () -- C:\Users\Geoffrey\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\53n89s16.default\searchplugins\safesearch.xml
[2011/11/26 13:42:19 | 000,002,519 | ---- | M] () -- C:\Users\Geoffrey\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\53n89s16.default\searchplugins\Search_Results.xml
[2011/11/26 13:42:19 | 000,002,519 | ---- | M] () -- C:\Program Files (x86)\mozilla firefox\searchplugins\Search_Results.xml


  • 0

#19
kinggeo10

kinggeo10

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
ok, i did that and restarted my laptop but still there
  • 0

#20
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
The quickest way around this at the moment would be to fully uninstall Firefox and then reload it..

Would you like me to walk you through that
  • 0

#21
kinggeo10

kinggeo10

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
yes please
  • 0

#22
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
OK download and run Revo Uninstaller Portable this will not install on your computer

Within the programme locate Firefox
Click to uninstall
On the main firefox uninstaller you will be given the option to save personal data - Do not do this we want to delete everything
Once the Firefox uninstaller has run Revo uninstaller will then locate all remaining files/registry items connected with firefox, we need to remove those as well
The last two screen shots on this page will then show you the remnants
All items that are related to firefox will be bolded, select those by ticking them individually
Choose delete, then next
Do the same for files and folders

If you wish to now reinstall firefox then download the latest version from here
  • 0

#23
kinggeo10

kinggeo10

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
I did all of that and the uninstall was successful but when i reinstalled firefox it was still there
  • 0

#24
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Lets try a variation


Please download GooredFix from one of the locations below and save it to your Desktop

Download Mirror #1
Download Mirror #2

  • Ensure all Firefox windows are closed.
  • To run the tool, double-click it (XP), or right-click and select Run As Administrator (Vista).
  • When prompted to run the scan, click Yes.
  • GooredFix will check for infections, and then a log will appear.

    Please post the contents of that log in your next reply (it can also be found on your desktop, called GooredFix.txt).

  • 0

#25
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Due to lack of feedback, this topic has been closed.

If you need this topic reopened, please contact a staff member. This applies only to the original topic starter. Everyone else please begin a New Topic.
  • 0

Advertisements







Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP