Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Windows XP Home installation issues

• Please log in to reply

a0193270

a0193270

• PipPip
  • 14 posts
Hello,

I recently had one of my hard drives crash. The hard drive I had setup(Hitachi Deskstar 160GB) as a slave had no operating system, it just had copies of a lot of data from the older, much smaller drive(32GB).

I went ahead and removed the old drive and set my secondary drive as master. BIOS sees everything as I would expect(of course, I am no pro at this). I have the boot order as CD-ROM, Floppy, Hard Drive. When I boot up with my original(bought it at Frys Electronics) Windows XP Home Edition SP1a disk, I do get to the Windows Setup screen fine. It asks me to read and accept terms, and asks which partition I want to load Windows onto. I select the partion and had it formated into NTFS(Quick) just to be safe(I had originally made the filing system NTFS when I first formated the drive after installation). It continues installation without a hitch in that it load all the appropriate files into C:\Windows and then says it will re-boot and Setup will Continue. This is where the issue is!

When the computer re-boots, it says if I want to boot from the CD-ROM, push any key.. I go ahead and do that, and the Windows setup screen appears again and the install starts all over. The first time I thought it was all part of the process, but then after accepting the terms and saying I want to install windows xp, it says an operating system exists on my drive and do I want to install over it.