Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Changing processor

• Please log in to reply

Speedracer 64

Speedracer 64

• PipPip
  • 20 posts
I am wanting to upgrade my computer a little bit. I am adding 2 more gb's of ram. I am also wanting to upgrade the processor. Right now I have a Intel Celeron 450 @ 2.20 ghz. I have heard that the Celeron processor is junk. I am just looking for something to help out a little bit. I don't really have a lot of extra money to spend since I'm a college student. I have been looking online. Just don't know what to choose with so many different ones available now.

Thanks
Jason

Advertisements

phillpower2

phillpower2

Mechanised Mod

• Global Moderator
  • 24,780 posts
:welcome: Speedracer 64

You need to provide information about your computer, this includes is it a notebook or desktop, is it a custom build or brand name such as Dell or HP, if it is provide the model name or series number (not serial) providing these details will enable others to better assist you.

Once we determine what MB (motherboard) you have we can look at what if any upgrades are possible.

Speedracer 64

Speedracer 64

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 20 posts
It is a Dell desktop Inspiron 530.

phillpower2

phillpower2

Mechanised Mod

• Global Moderator
  • 24,780 posts
The Dell Inspiron 530 was available with more than one model of MB so we need to know which one your PC has.
Please run speccy and post the results so that we can see what MB is in your PC http://www.piriform.com/speccy