Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

IE9 - I need to find a solution please HELP!


  • Please log in to reply

#16
brady1988

brady1988

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 236 posts
what does flushing DNS have to do with all this? ipconfig/flushdns is to refresh my ip and so on... it won't matter the flushing thing tho
  • 0

Advertisements


#17
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
What you are doing is clearing any possible bad code stuck in IE history that may be stopping the page from loading correctly.
I am running IE10 and just typed in geekstogo in my address bar and it went right to www.geekstogo.com with no issue.
Therefore the issue is either your IE or your System. Since any other browser works fine then I have to believe it is IE at this point. If it is all browsers then it may be a hidden infection stopping the search and redirect to the right website.
  • 0

#18
brady1988

brady1988

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 236 posts
well i just fixed the search bar problem, it's all good now the only problem is the other problem when you click to a new tab it will show you a blank page ...
  • 0

#19
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
How did you fix the search bar issue?
Open IE and at the top click on Tools and then click on Internet Options
When that window opens then on the first page which should be the General tab you should see in the middle of the window a button that says Tabs
Click that and you will get a new window. In the middle you should see a button marked When a new tab is opened, open:
That drop down menu should have 3 options in it that say:
  • A blank page
  • The new tab page
  • Your first home page


I'm willing to bet it is set for a blank page. Change it to one of the other two and see if that resolves the issue.
  • 0

#20
brady1988

brady1988

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 236 posts
Posted Image

There you have it, I've tried the three of them and none of them worked.
  • 0

#21
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
I see no images. You also provided no response to my other question on how you resolved the search bar issue. I can replicate your issue by simply putting the tab open setting to blank page.
You have to make sure to Apply the setting once you change it. I tried without applying and it did not work.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP