Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Confused... What is Windows Live, what is Mesh and what is SkyDrive? o

• Please log in to reply

adifrank

adifrank

• PipPipPip
  • 226 posts
Hi. I've been using DropBox for a couple of years now but after reading several good things about Windows SkyDrive I finally decided to give it a try as well.
I successfully installed it, so it seems. But I just can't figure out what is what. When I try to log into my SkyDrive account I get to a page called Windows Live asking me to log on to my Windows Live account. Then when trying to access my SkyDrive it asked me again for my username and password. So is this something different? When searching for the SkyDrive application on my system I can only find Windows Mesh, which I think is the same thing, but I'm not sure...
I tried uploading a test file to the could and checking if it synced with my local folder. the upload was successful, but it didn't sync with my SkyDrive folder on my local drive. Also on one of the accounts (can't remember which, either mesh, live or skydrive) it says I have 5GB of storage, while in another it says 25GB.
Anyway, it's all confusing to me. What is Windows Live, what is Windows Mesh and what is SkyDrive? Are they connected? Are they different names for the same thing?
Please help me sort this out. Thanks!

Advertisements

admin

admin

Founder Geek

• Community Leader
  • 24,639 posts