Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Bought a Lenovo ThinkPad and an IBM ThinkPad from CA state auction and

• Please log in to reply

YeahHuhWhatever

YeahHuhWhatever

• Pip
  • 6 posts
Beside my Introductory post this is my first attempt and I hope I am posting my question in the correct Forum.

This past weekend I attended the CA State Surplus Auction and won 2 laptops. One for a friend and one for my parents. All are elderly and have very little computer experience. Before the auction I talked with the CA state tech who makes the computers ready for auction. He said the laptops have a Windows 98 prompt and are ready to load whatever OS I want to use. He said that Win XP is free from Microsoft. Then recommended I go to the internet and burn Win XP Service Pack 3 to CD. He said it's easy to install, I could do it myself. Now my friends call me when they have computer issue's but I am no way an expert, just have over 10+ years of computer user experience and I know how to use my brain. :blush: So I found the file on Microsoft's web site and burned it to a CD.

I haven't done anything beyond that, basically because I don't want to mess something up. I don't to cause anything that will cost extra $$$ to fix because I did something wrong. Oh the pressure!

I'd like to start with the Lenovo because it seems easier. When I turn it on it quickly brings up a black screen with Microsoft ® Windows 98 copyright 1981-1998
C:\_