Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Laptop crash with bootable CD


  • Please log in to reply

#106
ramaflore

ramaflore

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 210 posts
Do you have a screenshots of a repair or parallel installation to check it, please ? I'm confused about all these Vista OS version. It's dificult to understand it, thanks.

I've understood that for a parallel installation, it's not necessary to format HD.

And for a repair installation, format is forced ?

Edited by ramaflore, 20 August 2012 - 10:29 AM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#107
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
HERE is one example.
Do not go any farther then down to the bold type that says:
Here's How:
  • 0

#108
ramaflore

ramaflore

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 210 posts
Thanks rshaffer.

I also found this My link

I already did a Repaired Installation one times with the Vista Installation DVD.

So, I think the only way is to do a parallel installation as you said.
  • 0

#109
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
That is a startup repair and not a repair installation.
I have a couple of questions if you could be so kind as to reply to.
What was the original Os installed on your system from the factory?
Is it the currently installed OS on the system?
The Vista cd you got from your friend if I remember right is not the same as the original correct?
  • 0

#110
ramaflore

ramaflore

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 210 posts
An idea come to my mind, two months ago, I updated my graphics drivers (Ksod was already on my latop since two years I think) with Windows Update, because the date the update was more recent than the one on the site of my manufacturer.

Even tough, I uninstalled this driver to come back to the previous version and I checked that Black screen was still present.

Maybe it could help, I don't know
  • 0

#111
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
If the KSOD's were happening before you updated the video driver then it is probably safe to say the issue is not that. A new driver should have taken care of the issue unless the GPU chip is damaged in some way.
  • 0

#112
ramaflore

ramaflore

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 210 posts
Unfortunately, there is no more update since 2008 on Fujitsu site and Intel site

Edited by ramaflore, 20 August 2012 - 11:35 AM.

  • 0

#113
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
and the answers to post 109?
  • 0

#114
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Also I just went through the whole topic and no where have you stated the make and model of your system. I take it from posts about the installation disks you have it is a Fujitsu but what make and model number is it?
  • 0

#115
ramaflore

ramaflore

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 210 posts
Oh sorry, I've not seen your post :rolleyes:

Ok, thanks. What's a repair installation ?

What was the original Os installed on your system from the factory? Vista Business, french version

Is it the currently installed OS on the system? Yes, it is.

The Vista cd you got from your friend if I remember right is not the same as the original correct? What is bizarre, is that the Recovery DVD is not coming with the factory settings. It's a Vista installation DVD, but I'm suspicious about this DVD. To answer to your question, I would say they are both different. The AIO Vista DVD, can install others Vista versions.



That is a startup repair and not a repair installation.
I have a couple of questions if you could be so kind as to reply to.
What was the original Os installed on your system from the factory?
Is it the currently installed OS on the system?
The Vista cd you got from your friend if I remember right is not the same as the original correct?


  • 0

Advertisements


#116
ramaflore

ramaflore

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 210 posts
Amilo Pro v3505 laptop bought on 2008

The same features (mine has 120 Gb HD)
My link

Also I just went through the whole topic and no where have you stated the make and model of your system. I take it from posts about the installation disks you have it is a Fujitsu but what make and model number is it?


Edited by ramaflore, 20 August 2012 - 12:03 PM.

  • 0

#117
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
A startup repair is exactly what it sounds like. It will try to resolve any startup issues with your installation. This is not the issue at hand as you have stated the KSOD's happen at other times also.
A repair installation will attempt to check, verify, repair, replace and system files, drivers or programs that it finds to be corrupted or missing.
It normally does not erase any of your data but there is always a chance anytime you are dealing with a OS installation.
  • 0

#118
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Can I ask is there a sticker on the bottom of the laptop with the OS and reg key on it?
What does it say for the OS please?
  • 0

#119
ramaflore

ramaflore

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 210 posts
Yes, there is a sticker with the key for "Windows Vista Business OEM Act"
  • 0

#120
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
AIO Vista DVD is the manufacturers disk you got with the system?
it may have several versions you can install because it was included with different model systems so they just made it that no matter what system you have the disk would work on it.. The drivers yes that may be a issue.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP