Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

hard drive isn't detected in the bios.


  • Please log in to reply

#16
butch1954

butch1954

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
i don't know which key is safe mode. it has a network boot,but i don't know how to initiate it at the dos prompt. i get something like the letters (dhjc) and a spinning thing beside it.
  • 0

Advertisements


#17
Macboatmaster

Macboatmaster

    7k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,237 posts
Go back to device manager
prepare for the screenshot
save the screenshot as explained by my colleague rshaffer61 in his post 7
HOWEVER save it to a flash pen
Come back to the computer on which your are replying
Attach the saved JPEG image from the screenshot to your reply using Use full editor on your reply and follow the instructions

Usually the warnings are Yellow with a black exclamation mark OR a red X, there are others, but a screenshot will paint a 1000 words
  • 0

#18
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
When you boot the system normally hitting F8 will get you to the advanced boot options menu. There you will see a list of options of which one is Safe Mode With Networking. Highlight it and then click Enter.
  • 0

#19
butch1954

butch1954

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
there isn't an internet connection in safe mode with networking.
  • 0

#20
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Then the issue has to do with a driver or service not starting.
  • 0

#21
butch1954

butch1954

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
Please tell how to do a screenshot again.
  • 0

#22
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
With Device Manager open showing the entries you stated then do the following.



To do a screenshot please have click on your Print Screen on your keyboard. It is normally the key above your number pad between the F12 key and the Scroll Lock key
Now go to Start and then to All Programs
Scroll to Accessories and then click on Paint
In the Empty White Area click and hold the CTRL key and then click the V
Go to the File option at the top and click on Save as
Save as file type JPEG and save it to your Desktop, or in your case as Macboatmaster said, to your flash pen drive, to then attach when replying on the computer with the connection.


Attach it to your next reply
  • 0

#23
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Is this system on a home or business network?
  • 0

#24
butch1954

butch1954

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
home
  • 0

#25
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
OK still waiting on that screenshot of the Device Manager I asked for earlier. :thumbsup:
  • 0

Advertisements


#26
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
There has been some mention of a program called Device Lock which would put the padlock symbol you are describing. Does this sound like a program you have installed?
  • 0

#27
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
It has been almost 2 days since the request for the device manager screenshot. Can I get that picture or are we at a position where we cannot continue?
  • 0

#28
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Are you still having problems with your issue?
It has been 30 days since your last response and I was wondering if the issue has been resolved?
If so can you explain how it was resolved so others may be able to fix it if they have the same issue.
If not please let us know and we can continue with helping you to resolve the issue.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP