Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

i think i may have a virus /comp redirected to amazon [Solved]


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked

#61
snowysdad43

snowysdad43

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 233 posts
well i have completed all my tasks :)
with one exception i dont know how to use this backup lol i downloaded and registered but the knowlege base has many different options and i dont know which one applies
could you explain this last process to me when you have a chance ?
thanks again essexboy
talk to you tommorow
  • 0

Advertisements


#62
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Okey Dokey...

Start the programme and select backup
[attachment=61169:backup.JPG]

Select the areas to backup
I have selected here my main C drive and everything on it
[attachment=61170:what.JPG]

Select where to save the backup
I have selected to use another partition on my disc, but it can also be backed up to a DVD
[attachment=61171:where.JPG]

Now show the programme where that location is (either another partition or DVD)
I have selected my G drive
[attachment=61172:location.JPG]

You will then see a summary of what you have asked for
[attachment=61174:summary.JPG]

This is where you can make a name for the backup, or date if you wish.
I have selected here to backup immediately
[attachment=61173:name.JPG]

Then the programme will do its thing
Whilst this was going on I was still using the computer for other stuff.. Not intensive though just typing etc..
[attachment=61175:working.JPG]

And then you will see this :)
[attachment=61176:done.JPG]

Is that ok ?
  • 0

#63
snowysdad43

snowysdad43

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 233 posts
fantastic essex
thank you for
everything your awesome

i will attemp backup now
lol
  • 0

#64
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Once that is done then assume you hit a disaster on the weekend like 600 viruses attack you en masse :lol: ... Then all you need do is restore the image you made today and all will be well again :)

Let me know how it goes and any further questions you may have
  • 0

#65
snowysdad43

snowysdad43

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 233 posts
well i did the procedure and had a disk in the drive but it did not write /burn to disk ? i got the finish screen like you displayed and finished but nothing happenmed am i now supposed to contact them for my files ?
remember i was having problems with the cd rom drive ? computer will boot from the cdrom but if i put a blank disk in there then click my computer it says insert disk in drive like it doesnt detect the drive
i just downloaded image burn to see if i could burn something but dont have anything on my computer except thre tools installed here
i put a pictutre in my documents to try to burn iyt to a disk and it did not work .i guess i have to be smarter than the blank disk

Edited by snowysdad43, 22 October 2012 - 06:40 PM.

  • 0

#66
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
OK lets fix the CD problem next :)

Download and install the MS Fixit center
This is an excellent programme to have on your system
Once installed then run the fixit centre
Run the CD/DVD reading and writing fixit
[attachment=61179:Capture.JPG]

This will ensure that all the right settings are present
Let me know if that fixes it
If it doesn't it may be a hardware problem
  • 0

#67
snowysdad43

snowysdad43

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 233 posts
thanks essexnot it seems my device is not capable of writing who would have thunk it lol i replaced it a while ago with one from an old computer and well it is what it is lol
so i will have to get another drive down the road but for now i think we are good
i suppose i could pick up a flash drive or 6 to put the backup on :)
Unless you have any other words of wisdom for me i would say you resolved all my issues ( well not all my personal issues but that i will save for the shrinks couch) lol :)
cheers mate great work thank you again

Edited by snowysdad43, 23 October 2012 - 03:01 PM.

  • 0

#68
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
My pleasure, keep safe now and enjoy :)
  • 0

#69
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Since this issue appears to be resolved ... this Topic has been closed. Glad we could help. :)

If you're the topic starter, and need this topic reopened, please contact a staff member with the address of the thread.

Everyone else please begin a New Topic.
  • 0

#70
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
User returned

Hi Todd could you do the following and let me know what the problem is with the laptop

Download OTL to your Desktop
Secondary link
  • Double click on the icon to run it. Make sure all other windows are closed and to let it run uninterrupted.

    Posted Image
  • Select All Users
  • Under the Custom Scan box paste this in

    netsvcs
    BASESERVICES
    %SYSTEMDRIVE%\*.exe
    /md5start
    services.*
    explorer.exe
    winlogon.exe
    Userinit.exe
    svchost.exe
    winsock.*
    /md5stop
    CREATERESTOREPOINT

  • Click the Run Scan button. Do not change any settings unless otherwise told to do so. The scan wont take long.
  • When the scan completes, it will open two notepad windows. OTL.Txt and Extras.Txt. These are saved in the same location as OTL.
  • Post both logs

  • 0

Advertisements


#71
snowysdad43

snowysdad43

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 233 posts
Hi Essex

when i started laptop a program caled startup repair started runnung it says attempting to perform start up repairs
it ran for about 5 minutes and has an option to camcel repair so i tried to cancel it and it says repairs can not be cancelled ? i dont know if this is legit or not
the computer is a del studio win 7 home premium with a core i5 proccesor

when this stops i will attempt otl if i can get logged on
edit the startup repair could not fix problem it listed several things the one that stood out was os loader is missing ? could dr web have deleted this ?
should i try booting fron the os disk that came with the laptop ?
please advise

I am screwed trying system restor no good /system repair no good also no image file on computer
I do have dell online backup but was run about a year ago
I dont think i can get internet access from the laptop though ?
This really stinks

Edited by snowysdad43, 31 October 2012 - 11:36 AM.

  • 0

#72
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Is this a 32 bit or 64bit system ?
  • 0

#73
snowysdad43

snowysdad43

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 233 posts
64
  • 0

#74
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
OK lets have a look see, this will enable me to see what is on the system without having to load windows

Download the following three programmes to your desktop :


1. WiNTBootIc
2. Windows 7 64bit RC
3. Farbar Recovery Scan Tool x64

Extract wintoboot to your desktop
Insert a USB drive of at least 1GB
Run Wintoboot

Posted Image

Drag and drop the Windows 7 ISO to the programme in the space indicated
Tick the Format box and accept the warnings
Press Do It

You will see it progressing

Posted Image

It will let you know when it is done
Then copy FRST to the same USB

Posted Image


Insert the USB into the sick computer and start the computer. First ensuring that the system is set to boot from USB
Note: If you are not sure how to do that follow the instructions Here


When you reboot you will see this although yours will say windows 7. Click repair my computer
Posted Image

Select your operating system
Posted Image

Select Command prompt
Posted Image

At the command prompt type the following :

notepad and press Enter.
The notepad opens. Under File menu select Open.
Select "Computer" and find your flash drive letter and close the notepad.
In the command window type e:\frst64.exe and press Enter
Note: Replace letter e with the drive letter of your flash drive.
The tool will start to run.
When the tool opens click Yes to disclaimer.
Posted Image
Press Scan button.
It will make a log (FRST.txt) on the flash drive. Please copy and paste it to your reply.
  • 0

#75
snowysdad43

snowysdad43

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 233 posts
what do i do with the 2nd one do i transfer that as well (to the usb)"2. Windows 7 64bit RC" or is that what winboot copied on its own ?

edit never mind i did not understand all set will try procedure on laptop
Thanks essex

Edited by snowysdad43, 31 October 2012 - 02:18 PM.

  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP