Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Need help choosing Gaming PC

• Please log in to reply

cfitz

cfitz

• Pip
  • 7 posts
Hi there! (Sorry if in wrong category) I am ordering a new PC for myself hopefully tomorrow but am having trouble making the final decision. I have been googling around reading up about parts to help me make a decision but still unsure.

My main purpose for this PC is gaming. I want to play games like Skyrim/ Just Cause 2/ Total War /BF3 etc.. on high graphics/resolution.
I am in 1st year studying computing so would do college work on it too. (programming and web design etc)
The monitor I would use for the first few months is a TV with 1360x768 resolution, but I would like to buy dual 1920x1080 in the near future! My budget for the box itself is ~€1,000.
(I have a Dell coupon to -€120 off.)

http://www.dell.com/...Collapsed=false

The differences between the 3 are Memory, Hard Drive, Video Card and Optical Drive.

Memory: I would have thought that 8GB is plenty for gaming so 12GB would be overkill.

Hard Drive: 1TB would be enough as I wouldnt be hoarding files. However an SSD would be nice for the OS for fast boot/load times on games that are on it, although 32GB is not alot. So would I be better of buying a larger SSD along with a different PC and put it in myself?