Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works

Dell netbook

  • Please log in to reply



    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Hi, Looking for a bit of help.

I have a netbook inspiron 10 its about 4 years old.

I went online the other weeek on a web site i have been on many times. all of a sudden another window opened, screen went white and my web cam lit up.

Now when i turn it on, it starts up, i see the icons, then they dissapear then screen turns white, but i can see mouse curser still. press the power button to turn it off and everything re appears but because hit power button turns off. tryed turning on in safe mode but wont let me do a restore. virus scan came back as no threats found.

so not sure.

any ideas??
  • 0




    Member 5k

  • Technician
  • 7,062 posts
Does that mean you can boot to Safe Mode okay? If so, try creating a new user id via Control Panel, User Accounts. Then shutdown and boot normally but login with the new account. If all is well, you can copy everything from the old account to the new one then delete toe old one. See here: http://support.micro...om/?kbid=811151

Or follow these directions posted in GeeksToGo.com (don't remember where though)
  • Boot to Safe Mode, login as Administrator
  • Show all files by opening My Computer, Tools menu, View tab, check Show Hidden Files/Folders then uncheck Hide extensions for known filetypes and Hide protected operating system files [Recommended]. Click Apply then OK.
  • Create a new Administrator level account via Control Panel / User Accounts.. Pick a good name as you will be keeping it.
  • Reboot the computer.
  • Login with the new account so the folder structure under Documents and Settings gets created, then log off.
  • Boot to Safe Mode, login as Administrator
  • Browse to c:\documents and settings\OldUserAccount
  • Select everything in that folder, including sub folders, except the three files called ntuser.dat, ntuser.dat.log, and ntuser.ini.
  • Copy all those files into c:\documents and settings\NewUserAccount. Reply Yes or Yes to all when duplicate folders or files are found.
  • Reboot the computer and login with your New user account.
Once you confirm that all your documents are located in My Documents of the New user, you can delete the old profile.
  • 0



    Member 5k

  • Technician
  • 7,062 posts
Also, you can try restoring to factory new state though this will wipe out all data on the hard drive so if there is anything there you need to save it first.

Mini 10 Users Manual here: http://support.t-mob...m/docs/DOC-1001

Performing Dell Factory Image Restore

1. Turn on the computer. When the Dell logo
appears, press <F8> several times to access
the Advanced Boot Options window.

NOTE: If you wait too long and the
operating system logo appears, continue to
wait until you see the Microsoft ®Windows®
desktop; then, restart your computer and
try again.

2. Select Repair Your Computer.

3. The System Recovery Options window appears.

4. Select a keyboard layout and click Next.

5. To access the recovery options, log on as
a local user. To access the command prompt,
type administrator in the User name
field, then click OK.

6. Click Dell Factory Image Restore. The Dell
Factory Image Restore welcome screen appears.
NOTE: Depending upon your configuration,
you may need to select Dell Factory Tools,
then Dell Factory Image Restore.

7. Click Next . The Confirm Data Deletion
screen appears.
NOTE: If you do not want to proceed with
Factory Image Restore, click Cancel .

8. Select the check box to confirm that you
want to continue reformatting the hard drive
and restoring the system software to the
factory condition, then click Next .
The restore process begins and may take
five or more minutes to complete. A message
appears when the operating system and
factory-installed applications have been
restored to factory condition.

9. Click Finish to reboot the computer.

  • 0

Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP