Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

System restore & Norton 360 mysteriously disabled, and more... [So


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked

#16
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Hmm intriguing as I can no longer see any apparent malware..

Is it just on this site that you have the problem with typing ? Are there any other symptoms ?

Please download Malwarebytes Anti-Malware to your desktop.

  • Right-click and Run as Administrator mbam-setup.exe and follow the prompts to install the program.
  • At the end, be sure a checkmark is placed next to Update Malwarebytes Anti-Malware and Launch Malwarebytes Anti-Malware, then click Finish.
  • If an update is found, it will download and install the latest version.
  • Once the program has loaded, select Perform quick scan, then click Scan as shown below.

    Posted Image
  • When the scan is complete, click OK, then Show Results to view the results.
  • Be sure that everything is checked, and click Remove Selected.
  • When completed, a log will open in Notepad. Please save it to a convenient location and post the results.


The log can also be found here:

Windows 2000 & Windows XP:
C:\Documents and Settings\<USERNAME>\Application Data\Malwarebytes\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\Logs

Windows Vista & Win7:
C:\Users\<USERNAME>\AppData\Roaming\Malwarebytes\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware\Logs
----------
  • 0

Advertisements


#17
Artb1969

Artb1969

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
Yes, the slow typing/skipped letters issue seems to just be here on G2G. It is working fine in Word 2010,and Excel, and I had no trouble navigating the web yesterday. I will be reinstalling the printer after lunch, and will let you know how that goes (should have it done in about 3 hours).
I have considered 'cleaning' the keyboard with canned air, just to make SURE there isn't a physical reason, but I have this vision of all the keys imitating a flock of birds and flittering around the room because I did it wrong ... and if WERE 'gunk' causing this issue, it would be very selective 'gunk' wouldn't it? So I didn't do it. Is it really safe to force air into the PC's inner works like that?

In the meantime, here are the malware scan results...

Malwarebytes Anti-Malware (Trial) 1.70.0.1100
www.malwarebytes.org

Database version: v2013.03.08.02

Windows 7 Service Pack 1 x64 NTFS
Internet Explorer 9.0.8112.16421
AimeeBigham :: AIMEEBIGHAM-HP [administrator]

Protection: Enabled

3/8/2013 11:47:53 AM
mbam-log-2013-03-08 (11-47-53).txt

Scan type: Quick scan
Scan options enabled: Memory | Startup | Registry | File System | Heuristics/Extra | Heuristics/Shuriken | PUP | PUM
Scan options disabled: P2P
Objects scanned: 210721
Time elapsed: 2 minute(s), 49 second(s)

Memory Processes Detected: 0
(No malicious items detected)

Memory Modules Detected: 0
(No malicious items detected)

Registry Keys Detected: 0
(No malicious items detected)

Registry Values Detected: 0
(No malicious items detected)

Registry Data Items Detected: 0
(No malicious items detected)

Folders Detected: 0
(No malicious items detected)

Files Detected: 0
(No malicious items detected)

(end)
  • 0

#18
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts

I have considered 'cleaning' the keyboard with canned air, just to make SURE there isn't a physical reason, but I have this vision of all the keys imitating a flock of birds and flittering around the room because I did it wrong ... and if WERE 'gunk' causing this issue, it would be very selective 'gunk' wouldn't it? So I didn't do it. Is it really safe to force air into the PC's inner works like that?

:rofl: No if it is just this site then I reckon your keyboard is OK

Once the printer is re-installed can you let me know what problems remain
  • 0

#19
Artb1969

Artb1969

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
My printer works fine.
The Norton 360 SAYS it is working (I hope that’s true).
All but two of my other programs are working just fine.
The Adobe Reader will NOT update. It opens, and the update box shows up, but clicking “update” produced NO reaction at all. It doesn’t seem to be frozen or stalled, it just did… nothing.

My “Dragon” voice recognition software (by Nuance) is telling me that it cannot run in “elevated mode.” How it GOT into ‘elevated mode’ is anyone’s’ guess, as I haven’t’ got the tech savvy to mess with those settings, even by accident. Blind ignorance maybe, but that is another matter.
I had trouble with that one before the rest of this became apparent, and its files were included in all the scans we’ve done, so I don’t know what to do about that. I’ve already removed and re-installed it once before, and the same issue came up, so I don’t THINK it’s related to anything else. I’m checking with the Nuance website to see what to do about that...

I’m typing this in Word, and will copy it into the G2G reply box. Not having any trouble with keystrokes being slow to register, no missing letters here, and all the ribbon functions are working, so I’m going to hazard the opinion that since that particular issue is only showing up ON G2G, it’s probably got more to do with the amount of information the G2G page is dealing with all at once rather than a symptom of a problem on my PC, right?

Does this mean my PC is okay now?
  • 0

#20
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
What version of Dragon are you using ?

Do you need Adobe just for reading or do you use it to create PDF's ?

Subject to no further problems :)

I will remove my tools now and give some recommendations, but, I would like you to run for 24 hours or so and come back if you have any problems

Now the best part of the day ----- Your log now appears clean :thumbsup:

A good workman always cleans up after himself so..The following will implement some cleanup procedures as well as reset System Restore points:

Remove ComboFix
  • Hold down the Windows key + R on your keyboard. This will display the Run dialogue box
  • In the Run box, type in ComboFix /Uninstall
    (Notice the space between the "x" and "/")
    then click OK

    Posted Image
  • Follow the prompts on the screen
  • A message should appear confirming that ComboFix was uninstalled

Run OTL and hit the cleanup button. It will remove all the programmes we have used plus itself.

We will now confirm that your hidden files are set to that, as some of the tools I use will change that
  • Click Start.
  • Open My Computer.
  • Select the Tools menu and click Folder Options.
  • Select the View Tab.
  • Under the Hidden files and folders heading select Do not show hidden files and folders.
  • Click Yes to confirm.
  • Click OK.

Clear Restore Points

Go Start > All Programmes > Accessories > System tools
Right click Disc Cleanup and select run as administrator
Select More Options tab
Press Sytem Restore and Shadow Copies Cleanup button
Posted Image

Now that you are clean, to help protect your computer in the future I recommend that you get the following free programmes:

Posted Image Malwarebytes.

Update and run weekly to keep your system clean

Download and install FileHippo update checker and run it monthly it will show you which programmes on your system need updating and give a download link

If you use on-line banking then as an added layer of protection install Trusteer Rapport

It is critical to have both a firewall and anti virus to protect your system and to keep them updated. To keep your operating system up to date visit
To learn more about how to protect yourself while on the internet read our little guide How did I get infected in the first place ?Keep safe :wave:
  • 0

#21
Artb1969

Artb1969

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
I use adobe to read. Most of my course work is in PDF format. I had no problem using it yesterday to red the files, but If there IS an update for it, I should probably update to it.

Dragon Naturally Speaking version 11.
Dragon began telling me that it couldn't run in "compatibility mode" back in February, which was what prompted me to reinstall it, and it worked fine after that (twice!) but I haven't had to use it since then, although I have been to 'nuance' site several times to see if there was a way to get it back into 'working mode.'(without success).
When I tried it today is when I discovered that it is now claiming to be unable to work in "elevated mode".
Just my luck to get a program that not only will NOT 'be compatible' with itself, but NOW thinks it's beneath it to work at a higher level either. I wonder if Nuance is aware that its' dragon has such a personality disorder?

In any case, I'm going to get started on the cleaning-up for now but will come back and check in as soon as it's done.
  • 0

#22
Artb1969

Artb1969

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
The Combofix /Uninstall wants me to shut down Norton again... Is there some simple way to do that?
Last time I gave up and ran it with the "safeweb' still running, because I just could not did a way to turn that part of Norton OFF for the duration of the scan.
  • 0

#23
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Dragon v12 is out now and evidently it cures that problem, as for combofix let it run as it is in the uninstall phase and should not be a problem

Update Adobe as the latest one fills some security holes
  • 0

#24
Artb1969

Artb1969

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
So is the ADWcleaner supposed to stay on my desktop?
  • 0

#25
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
oops :blush: Run AdwCleaner and press uninstall to remove it sorry

Thank you for the donation 'tis gratefully received :cheers:
  • 0

Advertisements


#26
Artb1969

Artb1969

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
Current Status-
I haven't had any new issues beyond the ones I have already mentioned.
It is still slow to load pages (even ones I go to frequently), and I was not able to get Adobe to update.
It simply does 'nothing' when I click the update button. It's not loading, or delayed ... it is as if the button is only a picture.
Other than that, it's doing fine.

Is there anything else I can do?
  • 0

#27
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Download the standalone updater from here and see if that works

These are the settings you will need

[attachment=63700:Capture.JPG]
  • 0

#28
Artb1969

Artb1969

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
That worked! You are a genius! Thank you SO MUCH!
Is now a good time to head over to the "How did I get infected" pages and start adding some protecton to my PC, so this stuff doesn't happen again?
  • 0

#29
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
My pleasure, the main elements you need are :

Antivirus .. OK
Antimalware .. MBAM
Trusteer if you do online banking
And keep all programmes up to date

:cool:
  • 0

#30
Artb1969

Artb1969

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts
Norton 360 - check
Malwarebytes - check
Trusteer - I'll find it!

Thank you for all you help, (and patience)!

I'm recommending this site to everyone I know at college ... so maybe G2G will get some new members!
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP