Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Wacky install of Windows 8

• Please log in to reply

BS_1

BS_1

• PipPip
  • 81 posts
Hi,
It's been a while since I have posted on this forum since I have had NO problems since windows XP, but I've recently switched to Windows 8, which seems like a fine OS, but I think I made some mistakes while installing it. I know GeeksToGo has helped me in the past so I've come back to ask for some help.

The problem is that I THINK my Windows 8 is slower than it should be. I say "I think" because I've never used Windows 8 before, so I can't be sure how fast or slow it should be. But it feels like the 'apps' take a fairly long time to load. I'm talking about 3-4 seconds here, which really isn't that much, but with new technology I kind of expect things to not even have a loading time. I'm fine with this 'wait' but I just wanted to make sure I didn't screw things up during the install of my OS. I have installed it on a brand new computer that I built myself. i5 processor, Windows 8 Compatible motherboard (forgot the name), 8 gig Ram.

PROBLEM EXPLAINED HERE: