Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

First time build, will it work?

• Please log in to reply

KeithK

KeithK

• Pip
  • 5 posts
So this is my first time building a pc. I will primarily be using it for gaming and video editing. I have a few (hopefully) simple questions. I am trying to keep it as inexpensive and powerful as possible, through doing this I am unsure if all the parts i've chosen are compatible with each other. My second question is that I am not sure how the case works. The motherboard and graphics card seem to have a lot of ports for USB and display, yet the case only has a few slots. How does that work, should I look for a new case, and if I need one, do you have a recomendations?
Here is the link to what parts I have assembled so far.
http://secure.newegg...Number=24359846
Any replys would be great, thanks
- Keith

Advertisements

phillpower2

phillpower2

Mechanised Mod

• Global Moderator
  • 24,780 posts
:welcome: KeithK

Not a bad list of parts but there is room for improvement with some items, please note that some of your selected items are currently out of stock at Newegg.

I suggest a change of case and PSU as you want better cooling and future upgrade potential;

Case

PSU

If your budget will allow it pay more for a better video card.

Got to go out for a few hrs now but will check back later.

KeithK

KeithK

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
Made some changes to the choice of case and the psu, and graphics card. Feedback on the newest version?
http://pcpartpicker.com/p/2c1GN

phillpower2

phillpower2