Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Bit of advice for a *complete* novice?

• Please log in to reply

BettyCupcake

BettyCupcake

• Pip
  • 2 posts
I need to get my son (13) a "gaming" computer. Budget is around $500 (I already have a monitor for him). He's a Minecraft addict, and he plays L4D2 sometimes, so these are the games that it needs to run. I'm a gamer myself but my pc was built when I got it so I have no prior experience. I admit I am a complete and utter helpless case when it comes to the whole build a rig thing, so pre-built is my only option.

I looked at this one and someone told me it was a good choice:
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16883220448

Also this one seems decent?
http://www.walmart.c...cluded/26464578

If anyone wants to suggest something different, that's great. I do need it to include an OS, but we have everything else (wifi, peripherals, monitor).

Oh, I want to buy it this week if that matters.

Any and all advice would be helpful and I really appreciate anyone taking the time to advise. Thanks!

Edited by BettyCupcake, 23 February 2014 - 07:20 PM.

Advertisements

jds63

jds63

Member 1K

• PipPipPipPip
  • 1,100 posts
:welcome:

Hi, i would wait for an even more experienced person here to answer you more.

But from my knowledge of PC games, which i use a few.

For one $500. is a bit low for a Gamer PC, now for one just using for software,music and videos, maybe yes.

Second ,Games these days are getting more and more higher graphics and demand higher end graphics cards and more RAM to play.