Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Best computer spec for designers?

• Please log in to reply

Marty24

Marty24

• Pip
  • 2 posts

I am about to invest in a new high-end computer to use in my design practice! I am a graphic designer but I have relatively less knowledge about computers themselves.

What would a good 'designers computer' consist of?

- Adobe tell me that I do not have the minimum amount of RAM to use certain features on their creative cloud products (illustrator/photoshop etc)

- Photoshop and illustrator freeze a lot, and go very slowly at other times.

- I cannot use photoshop/illustrator and simultaneously search for images on google or listen to music using my browser on youtube. It's as though too many processes are causing my computer

to freeze (is this a RAM related issue? Is it a processor issue? I have very little clue. To add to the confusion, I have very little knowledge of 'graphics cards' and whether I need integrated or dedicated types?)

My existing computer is:
Dell Inspiron ONE2205
AMD Athlon II X2 250u Processor 1.60 GHz
Installed memory (RAM): 3.00 GB (2.75 usable)
64-bit operating system
Windows 7 Home Premium